Interactive Brokers vs Scalable Capital

Broker Comparison · 2026

Interactive Brokers vs Scalable Capital (2026):
Savings plans, fees, and who wins for EU investors

Updated September 2026 — rebuilt onto Scalable Capital’s pricing schedule effective 1 September 2026

Scalable Capital and IBKR solve different problems. Scalable runs free ETF savings plans across 2,700+ funds, withholds Abgeltungsteuer at source for German tax residents, and pays 2.50% on cash held in its Overnight account. IBKR is the global default for multi-currency portfolios, institutional FX rates, and exchange access that reaches far beyond German markets. From 1 September 2026 Scalable charges a flat €1.99 on one-off trades at Xetra and gettex on both plans, which changes the lump-sum side of this comparison. This comparison shows which one costs you less in practice — and when each is the right call.

Interactive Brokers vs Scalable Capital — broker comparison logos on dark background

Some of the links on this site are affiliate links, meaning we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you if you sign up through them. This does not affect our reviews or recommendations — we only feature products we genuinely believe are useful for investors. This site provides educational content only, not personalized investment advice. Investments can lose value and past performance does not guarantee future results. You are responsible for your own financial decisions and for confirming the tax and legal rules that apply in your country.


TL;DR

✅ Choose IBKR if
  • You need multi-currency accounts — deposit EUR, hold USD, convert deliberately.
  • You invest in USD-denominated or non-EUR assets and want institutional FX rates.
  • You are based outside Scalable Capital’s six available countries.
  • You want global exchange access beyond German-listed securities.
  • You are comfortable managing your own annual tax declaration.
✅ Choose Scalable Capital if
  • You are a German tax resident and want Abgeltungsteuer withheld at source.
  • Monthly savings plan contributions into UCITS ETFs are your core workflow — executions are free on both plans.
  • You want 2.50% p.a. on cash, with no minimum balance, and you are willing to move that cash into the separate Overnight account.
  • You want a simpler platform without the IBKR learning curve.
  • You invest exclusively in EUR-denominated ETFs and have no multi-currency needs.
This is primarily a German-market decision. For investors based in France, Italy, Spain, or the Netherlands: Scalable Capital’s broker is available but narrower — no robo-advisor, and no tax withheld at source. For anyone outside those six countries, IBKR is the default — Scalable is simply not an option. One thing that no longer separates the two Scalable plans: from 1 September 2026 both FREE and PRIME+ pay the same €1.99 per one-off trade, so there is no per-order break-even between them.

Quick comparison

Category Interactive Brokers Scalable Capital
ETF commission (one-off) €3 min / 0.05% (Fixed, EUR markets); from €1.25 min (Tiered, plus exchange fees) €1.99 flat per trade, both plans (Xetra and gettex, from 01.09.2026)
Cheaper plan for one-off trades n/a — one schedule per pricing model Neither — FREE and PRIME+ pay the same €1.99
ETF savings plans Recurring Investments — commissions apply per execution Free on 2,700+ ETFs, both plans (crypto ETPs carry a spread surcharge)
Monthly plan cost None FREE: €0 / PRIME+: €4.99/month
FX conversion ~0.002% manual spot FX ($2 min); ~0.03% auto-conversion No multi-currency account; the client documents price a currency markup on foreign-currency turnover, size not published
Custody fee None from the broker; third-party custody fees may apply None from the broker; third-party custody costs passed on
Cash interest rate 1.697% p.a. (EUR, checked August 2026); reduced proportionally below USD 100,000 NAV 2.50% p.a. (Overnight account, variable); broker clearing cash earns 0%
Cash interest threshold Above €10,000 only No minimum — but cash must be moved into the Overnight account
Automated German tax No — self-declare all obligations Yes — Abgeltungsteuer withheld automatically
Banking licence No — investment firm, not a bank Yes — banking permission granted by BaFin; supervised by BaFin and the Deutsche Bundesbank
Investor / deposit protection Irish ICS: 90% of the amount lost, capped at €20,000, private individuals only Up to 5 × €100,000 (PRIME+, distributed across up to 5 banks); €100,000 per bank (FREE)
Fractional shares Yes in 11 European markets including Germany; €1.25 Fixed minimum, below the €3 whole-share minimum Through savings plans — bought to six decimals, always rounded down; the whole position must be sold at once
Multi-currency Yes — deposit and trade in up to 29 currencies No — EUR only
Exchange access Global multi-market access, far broader than German venues EIX, gettex, Xetra (DE-focused), plus OTC execution by consent
Robo-advisor No Yes — Scalable Wealth (DE/AT only)
Countries available Pan-European, global DE, AT (full); FR, IT, ES, NL (broker only)
Platform complexity High — built for professionals Low — clean mobile and web app

Scalable Capital figures from its published trading-costs schedule effective 1 September 2026 and its client documents. IBKR figures from its Irish entity’s published commission and interest-rate pages. Both verified September 2026 — IBKR publishes no effective dates on its pricing pages, so check current figures before acting.


Savings plans: Scalable wins clearly — here is the gap

For investors who build their portfolio through monthly contributions rather than large lump sums, the savings plan comparison is the most important cost difference between these two brokers.

Scalable Capital
Free executions on 2,700+ ETFs, on both plans
  • ETF savings plan executions: €0 — on both FREE and PRIME+ plans, and unaffected by the September pricing change.
  • 2,700+ ETFs eligible. Plans can also be set on shares, funds and crypto ETPs — crypto ETP executions carry a 0.99% (FREE) or 0.69% (PRIME+) spread surcharge, the one exception to the zero.
  • From €1 minimum, with no stated maximum. Nine execution dates per month.
  • Monthly, bi-monthly, quarterly, semi-annual, or annual frequency.
  • One savings plan per security — you cannot run two plans on the same ISIN.
  • Fractional amounts, bought to six decimal places and always rounded down so the savings rate is never exceeded. Changes made less than five banking days before an execution take effect from the following one.
Interactive Brokers
Recurring Investments — useful but commissions still apply
  • Schedule automatic purchases of eligible European-listed shares daily, weekly, or monthly.
  • Normal Fixed or Tiered commissions apply per execution — €3 minimum per contribution on Fixed in Germany and the other EUR markets.
  • Where a contribution buys a fractional quantity, the Fixed SmartRouting minimum is €1.25 rather than €3. IBKR does not state whether recurring orders route as fractional orders, so treat €3 as the conservative figure and €1.25 as the floor.
  • Feature is oriented around stocks rather than UCITS ETFs specifically.
  • Not a zero-commission equivalent to Scalable’s savings plans.

Annual cost for a monthly savings plan investor — three contribution sizes

12 contributions per year. Scalable FREE plan vs IBKR Fixed pricing. No custody fee at either broker.

Monthly contribution Scalable FREE (savings plan) IBKR Fixed (Recurring Investments) Annual difference
€100/month €0 €36 (12 × €3 min) Scalable saves €36
€500/month €0 €36 (12 × €3 min) Scalable saves €36
€1,000/month €0 €36 (12 × €3 min — 0.05% of €1,000 is €0.50, so the minimum applies) Scalable saves €36

IBKR Fixed pricing charges 0.05% of trade value with a €3 minimum in Germany and the other EUR markets, so the minimum applies on every contribution up to €6,000. Where a contribution buys a fractional quantity the Fixed SmartRouting minimum is €1.25, which would cut the annual figures to €15. Scalable figures from its trading-costs schedule effective 1 September 2026; IBKR figures from its published European commission schedule. Verified September 2026.

The savings plan cost gap is consistent and straightforward. IBKR’s advantage on FX is not a factor here — both brokers buy EUR-denominated UCITS ETFs, so no conversion happens on the trade itself. If your workflow is automated monthly contributions into UCITS ETFs in EUR, Scalable Capital is cheaper.
One cost this table does not show, and it matters outside Germany: on IBKR Fixed pricing, ETF trades on Euronext Paris, Amsterdam and Brussels carry a €0.75 per-execution exchange fee passed through on ETF products. A €3.00 Fixed trade on Euronext Amsterdam is €3.75 all-in. For a Dutch, French or Belgian investor running twelve contributions a year, that is €45 rather than €36.

Fees for one-off trades: IBKR Fixed vs Scalable FREE and PRIME+

For investors who also make occasional lump-sum trades outside savings plans, the fee structure looks different at each broker — and Scalable’s side of it changed on 1 September 2026.

Trade size IBKR Fixed (EUR markets) Scalable FREE Scalable PRIME+
€100 €3 min €1.99 €1.99
€250 €3 min €1.99 €1.99
€500 €3 min €1.99 €1.99
€2,000 €3 min €1.99 €1.99
€6,000 €3 (0.05% break-even) €1.99 €1.99
€10,000 €5 (0.05%) €1.99 €1.99
PRIME ETFs (Amundi, iShares, Vanguard, Xtrackers) €3 min / 0.05% €1.99 €1.99

Scalable Capital prices from its published trading-costs schedule for Xetra and gettex effective 1 September 2026, which carries two rows only — PRIME ETFs and per trade — both at €1.99 on both plans. IBKR prices from its published European commission schedule; Fixed is 0.05% of trade value with a €3 minimum and applies to Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, Spain and Switzerland-EUR. Verified September 2026.

There is no longer a per-order break-even between the Scalable plans. Before September, PRIME+ bought you €0 trades above €250 and the €4.99 monthly fee paid for itself after about five trades. From 1 September both plans pay the same flat €1.99, so PRIME+ is now bought for the narrower crypto spread, the cheaper Instant deposit and Credit rates, the cash distribution across up to five banks, and the extra platform features — not for cheaper orders. If you only run savings plans, FREE remains the right plan.
Two things the table cannot show. Scalable’s binding client documents still price a third broker plan, PRIME, which appears neither on the fee page nor in the in-app plan switcher, and no Scalable source states whether it can still be held or by whom. Separately, those documents still price a Category 1 execution venue, the European Investor Exchange, that the September fee table does not list — so any EIX pricing after 1 September is a contract claim rather than an advertised one, and we do not publish it as a live price.
IBKR Tiered pricing note: Tiered has a lower minimum (€1.25) than Fixed (€3), but adds exchange, clearing, and regulatory fees on top that vary by market. For EU ETF trades below roughly €2,500, Tiered can be cheaper all-in than Fixed; above that, Fixed is simpler and more predictable. Note that Tiered is not offered at all in Spain, the Czech Republic, Romania or Slovenia — those markets are Fixed only. Fixed minimums also differ by market: €6 in Portugal and €10 in the Baltics, against €3 in Germany and the other core EUR markets.

Cash interest: Scalable wins on rate and threshold — if you move the cash

Both brokers pay interest on uninvested cash, but the rates, the thresholds and the mechanics are all different. At Scalable the yield sits in a separate account you have to fund deliberately; at IBKR it applies to your brokerage cash automatically, above a threshold and scaled to account size.

Scalable Capital — Overnight account
2.50%
p.a. variable — both FREE and PRIME+
  • No minimum balance — interest accrues on any amount held in the account.
  • You have to fund it deliberately. Scalable states you must actively deposit credit into the Overnight account to earn the 2.50%. Cash left in the broker clearing balance earns nothing.
  • Separate account with its own IBAN, added under Add Product in the app. It requires an existing broker or Wealth portfolio first, and external deposits can only come from your verified reference account.
  • Transfers between the broker clearing balance and the Overnight account happen in real time.
Interactive Brokers — EUR cash interest
1.697%
p.a. on EUR, checked September 2026 — above €10,000 only
  • Only paid on cash above €10,000. Below that: €0. The threshold applies to each currency holding separately.
  • Accounts below USD 100,000 net asset value earn a proportional rate. IBKR’s own example: an account with USD 50,000 NAV earns half the rate paid to an account at USD 100,000 or above. Most retail portfolios sit in this band.
  • The result is always a blended rate across your whole cash balance, not the headline figure.
  • Accrues daily, posted on the third business day of the following month. Rate is variable — check IBKR’s interest rate page for current figures.
Idle cash balance Scalable (2.50% on full balance) IBKR (1.697% above €10k) Annual difference
€5,000 €125 €0 (below threshold) Scalable earns €125 more
€15,000 €375 Up to ~€85 (1.697% on €5k above threshold) Scalable earns ~€290 more
€30,000 €750 Up to ~€339 (1.697% on €20k above threshold) Scalable earns ~€411 more

Scalable rate from its published Overnight account terms; IBKR rate from its Irish entity’s published interest-rate schedule. Both verified September 2026 and both variable.

The IBKR column is an upper bound, and for most retail accounts it will be lower. The figures above apply the full rate, which IBKR pays only to accounts with a net asset value of USD 100,000 or more. Below that the rate is scaled proportionally, so an investor holding €15,000 in cash inside a €40,000 portfolio earns well under €85. IBKR publishes its own worked comparison: an account with €80,000 NAV holding €20,000 cash was shown at a blended 0.778% as of July 2026. The Scalable column assumes the cash has actually been moved into the Overnight account.
Both rates are variable and track market conditions — verify current figures on each broker’s official page before relying on them. The structural advantage for Scalable Capital is the absence of both a threshold and a portfolio-size test: every euro in the Overnight account earns the same rate whatever your portfolio is worth. The offsetting friction is that it is a separate account you have to remember to fund.

FX workflow: IBKR wins — but only if you need it

IBKR’s FX advantage is frequently cited in EU broker comparisons. In the context of IBKR vs Scalable Capital specifically, the relevance depends entirely on what you invest in — for a pure EUR UCITS ETF portfolio it barely registers, and for anything else it is decisive.

IBKR — multi-currency and institutional FX
  • From 0.2 basis points — about 0.002% — via a manual Spot FX order, with a USD 2 minimum per order.
  • Deposit and trade in up to 29 currencies — hold EUR and USD simultaneously; convert deliberately, not on every trade.
  • 3 basis points (0.03%) on automatic conversion, which applies when you trade a foreign-currency instrument without converting first. Cheaper than the USD 2 manual floor on amounts below roughly $6,700.
  • Access to global securities priced in foreign currencies. Note that US-domiciled ETFs are generally closed to EU retail investors under the PRIIPs rules, whichever broker you use.
Scalable Capital — EUR only
  • No multi-currency account and no USD cash balance — the account is EUR-denominated.
  • Trades on EIX, gettex, and Xetra — all EUR-priced securities.
  • A currency markup does exist. Scalable’s client documents state that turnover in foreign currencies is converted to EUR at the applicable rate plus a mark-up or less a mark-down, and that the conversion may be carried out by Scalable or by a third party such as an intermediary custodian. The size of that markup is not published anywhere.
  • If you only buy EUR-denominated UCITS ETFs, no conversion happens on the trade itself at either broker.
When FX actually matters in this comparison

If you invest exclusively in EUR-denominated UCITS ETFs — which includes essentially every MSCI World, S&P 500, or ACWI tracker listed on European exchanges — no currency conversion happens on the trade at either broker. The underlying fund holds USD assets; you buy a EUR share class, and the fund’s own internal currency exposure is a product cost, not a brokerage charge. Foreign dividends or third-party costs booked in another currency are a separate matter, and that is where Scalable’s unpublished markup would apply.

IBKR’s FX advantage becomes material when you want to hold USD cash, buy shares and other securities listed in foreign currencies, or build a multi-currency portfolio. If none of those apply, FX cost is not a differentiator between IBKR and Scalable Capital — and you should evaluate the two brokers on savings plan cost, cash interest, and tax handling instead.

The scenario where IBKR’s FX edge is decisive: an investor who wants to hold USD cash, buy US-listed stocks directly, or run a genuinely multi-currency portfolio. For those investors Scalable Capital is simply not an option — a EUR-only account means no USD positions. If that describes none of your plans, treat FX as a non-differentiator here and decide on savings plan cost, cash interest and tax handling instead.

Abgeltungsteuer: Scalable withholds at source, IBKR doesn’t

For German tax residents, this is one of the most practically useful differences between the two brokers — and one that is frequently underweighted in comparisons. Note the scope: it is withholding at source for German tax residents, not a general tax service across every market Scalable serves.

🇩🇪 Scalable Capital — automatic for German residents
  • Calculates, withholds, and remits Abgeltungsteuer directly to the Finanzamt: 25% Kapitalertragsteuer plus the 5.5% solidarity surcharge, and church tax where applicable.
  • In most standard cases, German investors do not need to declare broker gains on their annual tax return.
  • Freistellungsauftrag submitted through the platform — €1,000 for an individual, €2,000 for married couples and registered partners. One order applies across all your Scalable business relationships and cannot be split between two accounts.
  • An annual Jahressteuerbescheinigung is issued where tax-relevant transactions occurred, normally delivered to your customer mailbox by the end of April of the following year.
❌ IBKR — you handle all tax obligations yourself
  • IBKR provides an annual activity report but does not file taxes or handle country-specific obligations on your behalf.
  • German investors must declare capital gains themselves and claim the €1,000 annual allowance on their tax return. There is no Freistellungsauftrag to file with IBKR — that is an instruction to a German bank or broker, and IBKR is neither.
  • You are responsible for calculating taxable gains, withholding tax offsets, and any applicable levies.
  • This is meaningful annual overhead — factor it into the total cost of using IBKR as a German resident.
Practical impact for a German investor: with Scalable Capital, once you have filed a Freistellungsauftrag your first €1,000 in annual gains is shielded without further action. Beyond that, tax is withheld and remitted without touching your tax return in most cases. With IBKR, you need to track realised gains yourself and declare them on your return — IBKR issues an activity report but withholds nothing and files nothing on your behalf. For investors who prefer simplicity, this operational difference is worth real consideration.
Withholding and reporting are different things, and the distinction matters outside Germany. Scalable withholds at source for German tax residents. For clients tax-resident elsewhere it does not withhold, but its client documents state it may arrange a report of tax-relevant investment income for the tax year, at no additional charge, delivered to the customer mailbox — with no warranty as to content. So French, Italian, Spanish and Dutch clients file their own returns, though not necessarily from a standing start. Austria’s position is not stated in any Scalable document we have read, in either direction; Austrian investors should confirm it with Scalable directly rather than assume either answer.

Safety and regulation — different structures, both solid

Both brokers are among the more robustly regulated options available to EU investors. The key structural difference: Scalable Capital holds a banking permission; IBKR is an investment firm and says so plainly. For securities, both hold client assets as segregated positions. For cash, the two frameworks are genuinely different rather than simply better or worse.

Category Interactive Brokers (EU clients) Scalable Capital
Regulatory structure Investment firm, not a bank — Interactive Brokers Ireland Limited Banking permission granted by BaFin — Scalable Capital Bank GmbH
Primary regulator Central Bank of Ireland (CBI, reference C423427) BaFin and the Deutsche Bundesbank
Securities custody Segregated in accounts designated for the exclusive benefit of clients, reconciled and calculated daily under Irish client-asset rules German securities held in collective safe custody at Clearstream, with the client acquiring co-ownership of the collective holding; foreign securities credited in a securities account
Cash protection Irish ICS: 90% of the amount lost, capped at €20,000, private individuals only. Client funds pooled across a range of banks inside and outside the EEA to limit concentration Scalable states cash is distributed across up to 5 banks with PRIME+ (5 × €100,000 statutory, plus voluntary guarantees); without PRIME+, across banks at €100,000 each or qualifying money market funds — each also possible as the sole safekeeping method
Financial strength $22.3B equity capital, $13.9B above regulatory requirements; 73.5% owned by employees and affiliates; no long-term debt; S&P 500 member; Interactive Brokers LLC rated A− Outlook Stable by S&P (Q2 2026) More than €50B in platform assets; more than 1M clients; over 700 employees; founded 2014 (July 2026)

IBKR figures from its Irish entity’s published strength and client-protection pages, stated as of the end of Q2 2026. Scalable Capital figures from its client documents and its own July 2026 company announcement. Verified September 2026.

What “segregated” means for your securities

At both brokers, your ETF and stock positions are held as client assets kept apart from the firm’s own. IBKR describes segregation into accounts designated for the exclusive benefit of clients, with daily reconciliation and daily calculation, subject to annual external review under Irish client-asset regulations. Scalable holds German securities in collective safe custody at Clearstream, where you acquire co-ownership of the collective holding. In both cases the intent is the same: on a broker failure, client securities are not part of the insolvency estate. The mechanics differ, and neither is a guarantee against every failure mode.

Why the cash protection frameworks differ

These are two different instruments, not one scheme with two limits. The Irish ICS is an investor compensation scheme: it pays private individuals 90% of the amount lost up to €20,000 if the firm fails, and covers nothing if your investments simply fall in value. Scalable’s €100,000 per bank is a statutory deposit guarantee, a banking framework, and it stacks where cash is spread across several banks. IBKR does not leave the cash concentrated either — it says client funds are pooled across a range of banks inside and outside the EEA specifically to reduce concentration risk, though that is a risk-management choice rather than a guarantee you can claim on. For an investor parking substantial cash rather than trading it, the Scalable multi-bank structure offers more headroom on paper.


Where each broker is available

Geographic availability is a hard constraint. If you are not in one of Scalable Capital’s six markets, this comparison ends here — IBKR is your option.

Country IBKR Scalable Capital — broker Scalable Capital — auto tax
🇩🇪 Germany Yes — full features Yes — full features Yes — automatic
🇦🇹 Austria Yes — full features Yes — Wealth available Not stated — confirm with Scalable
🇫🇷 France Yes — full features Broker only — no Wealth No withholding; free annual report contemplated
🇮🇹 Italy Yes — full features Broker only — no Wealth No withholding; free annual report contemplated
🇪🇸 Spain Yes — full features, but Fixed pricing only (no Tiered) Broker only — no Wealth No withholding; free annual report contemplated
🇳🇱 Netherlands Yes — full features Broker only — no Wealth No withholding; free annual report contemplated
Other EU / Switzerland / UK Yes — full features Not available Not available
For investors in France, Italy, Spain, or the Netherlands: Scalable Capital offers the self-directed broker, but without the Wealth robo-advisor and without tax withheld at source. Two IBKR details matter in these markets specifically. Dutch, French and Belgian investors on Fixed pricing pay a €0.75 per-execution exchange fee passed through on ETF trades at Euronext, so a €3.00 order is €3.75 all-in. And Spanish investors have no Tiered option at all — IBKR offers Fixed pricing only in Spain, the Czech Republic, Romania and Slovenia.

Who each broker fits — and the honest bottom line

Scalable Capital is the right choice if
  • You are a German or Austrian resident building a monthly UCITS ETF portfolio via savings plans.
  • You are a German tax resident and want Abgeltungsteuer withheld at source, with your Freistellungsauftrag applied by the broker.
  • You keep cash alongside your portfolio, want 2.50% p.a. with no minimum balance and no portfolio-size test, and will move that cash into the Overnight account.
  • You invest exclusively in EUR-denominated ETFs and have no multi-currency needs.
  • You want a simple, clean platform without an IBKR-level learning curve.
  • You want a broad savings plan catalogue — 2,700+ ETFs, plus shares, funds and crypto ETPs, on nine execution dates per month from €1.
IBKR is the right choice if
  • You are based outside Scalable Capital’s six available countries.
  • You need multi-currency accounts — EUR and USD positions simultaneously, converted at rates from 0.2 basis points.
  • You want access to foreign-currency securities or global exchanges beyond German markets.
  • Your portfolio has grown to a size where FX efficiency and global access become material advantages.
  • You are comfortable managing your own annual tax declaration.
  • You want a broker you are unlikely to outgrow regardless of portfolio size or strategy complexity.
The honest bottom line

For most German or Austrian investors doing monthly savings plan contributions into EUR-denominated UCITS ETFs, Scalable Capital is cheaper, simpler, and has better tax integration. Savings plan executions are free on both plans, the Overnight account pays more at any balance size once funded, and for German tax residents Abgeltungsteuer is withheld at source. On twelve monthly contributions the comparison is €0/year at Scalable against roughly €36/year at IBKR on Fixed pricing in Germany, or about €15 if those contributions route as fractional orders at the lower €1.25 minimum. What changed on 1 September 2026 is the lump-sum side: Scalable now charges a flat €1.99 per one-off trade on both plans, so “free trading” is no longer part of the argument.

IBKR becomes the right answer when your strategy outgrows EUR-only investing. The FX workflow, multi-currency accounts, and global exchange access have no equivalent at Scalable Capital — and these advantages compound meaningfully at scale. The practical upgrade path many investors follow: Scalable Capital as the automated savings base, IBKR added as the portfolio grows in size and strategic complexity.

If you are outside Germany and Austria: the comparison is largely settled. IBKR is available everywhere and does not restrict features by country. Scalable Capital’s two strongest differentiators are also narrower than its six-market footprint suggests — the Wealth robo-advisor is offered to German and Austrian clients only, and tax withheld at source applies to German tax residents.


Open your account once your plan is clear

German and Austrian savings plan investors: Scalable Capital FREE has no monthly fee and free savings plan executions across 2,700+ ETFs. Multi-currency investors, or anyone outside Scalable’s six markets: IBKR is the default. Both brokers change pricing without much notice — compare current terms on their official sites before committing.



Frequently asked questions

Is Interactive Brokers or Scalable Capital cheaper for German ETF investors?

It depends entirely on how you invest. For savings plan investors, Scalable Capital is cheaper — savings plan executions are free on both FREE and PRIME+, with a spread surcharge on crypto ETPs the only exception. IBKR charges a minimum of €3 per trade on Fixed pricing in Germany, so 12 monthly contributions cost around €36 per year, though a contribution that buys a fractional quantity carries a lower €1.25 Fixed minimum. On one-off trades the picture changed on 1 September 2026: Scalable charges a flat €1.99 per trade on Xetra and gettex, on both plans, so FREE and PRIME+ no longer differ on per-order cost. For investors who need multi-currency accounts or USD-denominated assets, IBKR’s institutional FX rates become the more relevant differentiator — Scalable Capital offers no multi-currency account and no USD cash balance.

Can I use Scalable Capital outside Germany?

Scalable Capital is available in Germany, Austria, France, Italy, Spain, and the Netherlands. The robo-advisor, Scalable Wealth, is available to German and Austrian clients only. Automatic Abgeltungsteuer withholding applies to German tax residents. In France, Italy, Spain, and the Netherlands only the self-directed broker is offered: Scalable does not withhold local tax at source in those markets, though its client documents contemplate a free annual report of tax-relevant investment income for non-German tax residents. IBKR is available pan-European and globally with no meaningful feature restrictions by country of residence.

How do ETF savings plans compare between IBKR and Scalable Capital?

Scalable Capital has the cheaper savings plan offer. It covers 2,700+ ETFs with executions free on both FREE and PRIME+ plans, from €1, on nine execution dates per month, and plans can also be set on shares, funds and crypto ETPs — crypto ETP executions carry a 0.99% or 0.69% spread surcharge depending on plan. Only one savings plan can be set per security. IBKR’s Recurring Investments feature allows scheduled purchases of eligible European-listed shares, but normal Fixed or Tiered commissions still apply per execution — around €3 per contribution on Fixed pricing in Germany, or €1.25 where the contribution buys a fractional quantity. For zero-commission automated ETF investing, Scalable Capital is the cheaper option for investors based in its available markets.

Which broker pays more interest on uninvested cash — IBKR or Scalable Capital?

Scalable Capital pays more in most scenarios, but only on cash you actively move into its Overnight account. That account pays 2.50% p.a. on unlimited cash with no minimum balance, on both FREE and PRIME+; cash left sitting in the Scalable broker clearing balance earns 0%. IBKR pays 1.697% p.a. on EUR (rate checked August 2026) on cash above €10,000 only, and accounts with a net asset value below USD 100,000 receive a proportionally reduced rate. On a €15,000 balance, Scalable pays interest on the full €15,000 once it is in the Overnight account, while IBKR pays on €5,000 and scales that down for a small account. Both rates are variable — check each broker’s current figures before relying on them.

Does Scalable Capital handle German taxes automatically?

Yes, for German tax residents. Without a Freistellungsauftrag, Scalable Capital withholds 25% Kapitalertragsteuer plus the 5.5% solidarity surcharge and, where applicable, church tax, and remits it to the Finanzamt on your behalf. German investors do not need to report broker gains manually in most standard cases. You can submit a Freistellungsauftrag up to the €1,000 individual allowance, or €2,000 for married couples and registered partners, through the platform; one order applies across all your Scalable business relationships. An annual Jahressteuerbescheinigung is issued where tax-relevant transactions occurred, normally delivered to your customer mailbox by the end of April of the following year. IBKR provides an annual activity report but handles no tax obligations on your behalf — you are fully responsible for declaring capital gains and any other local tax obligations.

Which broker has better investor protection for uninvested cash?

The two use different frameworks. Scalable Capital Bank GmbH holds a banking permission granted by BaFin and is supervised by BaFin and the Deutsche Bundesbank, so cash sits under deposit-guarantee rules. Scalable states that with PRIME+ cash is distributed across up to five banks, giving up to five times the €100,000 statutory guarantee plus additional voluntary guarantees from participating banks; without PRIME+ it is distributed across banks carrying the €100,000 statutory guarantee per bank, or qualifying UCITS money market funds — each of which is also possible as the sole safekeeping method. IBKR is an investment firm, not a bank. EU client assets are held via Interactive Brokers Ireland Limited, segregated in accounts designated for the exclusive benefit of clients and reconciled daily, with client funds pooled across a range of banks inside and outside the EEA to reduce concentration risk. The Irish Investor Compensation Scheme covers private individuals for 90% of the amount lost, capped at €20,000, and covers failure of the firm rather than market losses.

Does Interactive Brokers work in Germany?

Yes. IBKR is available to German residents with no feature restrictions. German clients are onboarded to Interactive Brokers Ireland Limited, regulated by the Central Bank of Ireland, with Irish Investor Compensation Scheme cover for private individuals at 90% of the amount lost up to €20,000. All IBKR features are available — multi-currency accounts, global exchange access, the FX conversion workflow, the Stock Yield Enhancement Program, and Recurring Investments. German investors who use IBKR must handle their own Abgeltungsteuer declarations, unlike Scalable Capital which withholds at source for German tax residents.

Which broker should a German long-term ETF investor choose?

For German investors doing monthly savings plan contributions into EUR-denominated UCITS ETFs, Scalable Capital wins on total annual cost, convenience, and tax handling — savings plan executions are free, the Overnight account pays 2.50% p.a. with no balance threshold once cash is moved into it, and Abgeltungsteuer is withheld at source. Note that from 1 September 2026 Scalable charges a flat €1.99 on one-off trades at Xetra and gettex on both plans, so lump-sum buying is no longer free on either plan. IBKR becomes the better choice when your portfolio grows in complexity: when you need multi-currency accounts, USD-denominated positions, or global exchange access. The practical path many investors follow is Scalable Capital as the starting point for systematic savings, with IBKR added later as portfolio size and strategy complexity make its advantages material.


Get the free toolkit sample

A working broker cost calculator — IBKR vs DEGIRO vs Trading 212, with verified September 2026 fees. You’ll also get 4 short emails on cutting your investing costs. Unsubscribe anytime.

QuantRoutine provides educational content only. Nothing on this page is an offer, solicitation, or recommendation to buy or sell any security or to open an account with any specific broker. Investments can lose value, and past performance does not guarantee future results. You are responsible for your own investment, tax, and legal decisions. Always review each broker’s current terms, fees, and eligibility on their official website before opening or funding an account.