Best broker for beginners in Europe

Best-of guide · 2026

Best Broker for Beginners
in Europe (2026)

Updated August 2026 · six brokers ranked · fees sourced from official pricing documents

The best beginner broker isn’t the prettiest app — it’s the one you can open where you live, that lets you start with the amount you actually have, and that doesn’t park a leveraged product next to your ETF account. This guide ranks Lightyear, Trading 212, Scalable Capital, Trade Republic, DEGIRO and Interactive Brokers on those three tests.

Best broker for beginners in Europe hero banner showing an EU-themed background with beginner-friendly broker platforms displayed on laptop and phone screens, plus coins, a learn to invest book, and market charts to represent simple investing and low fees.

Investing involves risk of loss. This is not investment advice. Currency fluctuations can impact your returns.

Some of the links on this site are affiliate links, meaning we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you if you sign up through them. This does not affect our reviews or recommendations — we only feature products we genuinely believe are useful for investors. This site provides educational content only, not personalized investment advice. Investments can lose value and past performance does not guarantee future results. You are responsible for your own financial decisions and for confirming the tax and legal rules that apply in your country.


TL;DR

✅ The 2026 order
  • Lightyear — widest published country list, free ETF trades, and no leveraged products on the platform at all.
  • Trading 212 — €1 minimum, fractional, broadest total market coverage across two entities.
  • Scalable Capital — the lowest entry point in the set: €0 plan executions from €1. Five countries plus Germany.
  • Trade Republic — free savings plans and no CFD product, but a €10 instalment floor and no published country list.
  • DEGIRO — €1 per Core Selection transaction. No fractional shares.
  • Interactive Brokers — the one you grow into, not the one you start on.
⚠️ Non-negotiables
  • EU/UK retail means UCITS ETFs in practice. That comes from the PRIIPs regime, not from your broker.
  • Check the minimum, not just the fee. A free execution with a €10 floor is worse than a €0.99 one at €1 if you’re starting small.
  • Fixed FX minimums bite hardest at small size. IBKR’s USD 2.00 floor is about 1% on a €200 conversion.
  • Pick a broker you can hold for 10+ years — and check it can follow you if you move country.

How we ranked these brokers

Three questions decide this page, in this order: can you open it where you live, can you get it badly wrong, and what does a small first contribution actually cost.

Criterion Why it decides the order
Published country eligibility A broker you can’t open — or might lose if you move — is not your broker. We rank a published, checkable country list above an unpublished one.
Product boundaries Platforms that sell CFDs, margin or copy-trading alongside passive investing require active discipline from someone who is still learning the basics. A platform where those products simply don’t exist removes the problem rather than warning about it.
Minimum contribution “Free” is not the same as “accessible”. The instalment floor decides whether a €25 monthly plan is possible at all.
UCITS ETF access and cost Execution plus handling plus custody, on the EUR-listed trackers a European beginner will actually buy.
FX workflow Both the rate and the floor. Percentage rates scale with your contribution; fixed minimums do not, and hurt small buyers disproportionately.
Asset safety and exit Segregation, securities lending, compensation scheme — and whether a position can leave the platform at all.
Affiliate links on this page do not determine the ranking. Every fee figure here traces to a broker’s own pricing document or client agreement. Where a broker does not publish something, we say so rather than filling the gap. Investing involves risk of loss.

What beginners in Europe actually need

Most beginner leakage comes from friction, not from picking the wrong ETF. The goal is a setup you can execute monthly without thinking.

1 — Eligibility
You can open and keep the account

Country support is the first filter. Some brokers publish an exact list you can check in ten seconds; others publish nothing. Both matter, and one of them is a reason to rank lower.

2 — UCITS access
You can buy the ETFs you need

Most EU/UK retail investors end up with UCITS ETFs because of the PRIIPs disclosure regime. That’s fine — same indexes, compliant wrappers. Build your plan around it. See UCITS vs US ETFs.

3 — Minimums
The floor, not the headline

Scalable Capital and Trading 212 start at €1. Lightyear’s fractional minimum is €2. Trade Republic’s savings plan floor is €10. All four describe execution as free — the difference is who can actually use it.

4 — FX costs
Rate and floor are different things

A percentage scales with your contribution. A fixed minimum does not — it just becomes a bigger share of a smaller trade. Currency fluctuations can impact your returns. See the cheapest FX guide.

5 — Country and tax admin
Know your local friction before you open

Some brokers handle local tax reporting on your behalf; others leave you to it, and several describe that reporting as something they may provide rather than something they guarantee. Some countries require you to declare foreign broker accounts, and some impose transaction taxes that change the cost equation entirely — Lightyear passes through Spanish, French, Italian, Portuguese, Irish and Hungarian transaction taxes directly. Always check your country’s guide before opening. See the country tax guides →


Best brokers for beginners in Europe

Six brokers, ranked on eligibility, product boundaries and what a small first contribution costs. Every advantage below is paired with its cost or limitation.

#1 · Best overall beginner pick
Lightyear

Lightyear wins this page on the two things that matter most to someone opening a first account: it publishes exactly who can open it, and there is nothing dangerous on the platform to open by mistake. Options, futures, CFDs, short-selling and pre-market trading do not exist here — not as a hidden tab, not at all. ETF trades are free, you hold EUR, GBP and USD in one account, and the 0.35% EU conversion rate is published rather than buried in a spread.

  • Eligibility: 26 countries — Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and the UK. Switzerland and Poland are not on the list.
  • Costs: no execution or custody fee on ETFs; fund manager fees still apply. EUR-denominated stocks, bonds, ETNs and ETCs cost €1 per order; US shares 0.10% (min USD 0.10, max USD 1); UK shares £1.
  • FX: 0.35% on top of the live interbank rate for EU clients. Portuguese residents pay 0.364% effective, because a 4% stamp duty applies to the conversion fee itself.
  • Fractional: stocks and ETFs from €2, structured as co-ownership of the underlying share. Not every instrument is fractional — the app carries a “Fractional” label and both screeners filter on it.
  • Recurring: Plans run weekly, fortnightly or monthly at no extra cost per execution, funded from your balance or by standing order — not direct debit. Auto-invest inside a Plan works only on fractional-eligible instruments; anything else appears grouped as unavailable and has to be bought manually.
  • No securities lending on any account type — your shares are not lent out.
  • Cash: uninvested EUR earns nothing. Cash interest is paid only to UK residents on GBP and Hungarian residents on HUF. The ~2.2% figures quoted elsewhere are Savings, a money market fund with capital at risk — not a deposit.
  • Exit: no transfer-out charge, but fractional positions cannot be transferred to another broker — they must be sold, or topped up to whole shares first.
  • Entity: Lightyear Europe AS, authorised by the Estonian Financial Supervision Authority and passported across the EEA. Investor compensation up to €20,000 via the Estonian Investor Protection Sectoral Fund; crypto is excluded.
#2 · Widest country coverage
Trading 212

The most accessible interface on this list and the broadest total coverage — roughly thirty European markets, but split across two separate legal entities with two different compensation schemes, which almost nobody explains. Zero commission, zero custody, €1 minimum order, fractional shares. The structural risk is that the CFD product sits next to the Invest account. The rule is simple: use Invest only, automate contributions, and don’t check the app daily.

  • Which entity you get — this decides your protection.
    Trading 212 EU GmbH (BaFin ID 10109603, formerly FXFlat Bank GmbH): Germany, Austria, Denmark, Finland, France and French Overseas, Iceland, Ireland, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland.
    Trading 212 Markets Ltd (CySEC 398/21, Cyprus): Bulgaria, Croatia, Czechia, Estonia, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Cyprus.
  • Compensation: EU GmbH clients fall under the German EdW scheme — 90% of the value of the claim, capped at €20,000 per creditor, with all accounts at the firm aggregated. Cyprus clients fall under the Cyprus Investors Compensation Fund, up to €20,000. These cover broker failure, never investment losses.
  • Core price: €0 commission, €0 custody, €1 minimum deposit and minimum order, fractional shares. No account opening, maintenance or inactivity charge appears on the price list.
  • FX: 0.15% in every region, applied at the live interbank rate and never more than 0.15% — including at weekends. A round trip on a foreign-currency instrument is therefore 0.30%.
  • Recurring: AutoInvest runs either into a Pie (split by target weight) or into a single instrument, where it may appear branded as a Savings Plan. It is execution-only — no rebalancing on the single-instrument mode.
  • Cash interest is opt-in. If you don’t enable it, no interest is paid to you and Trading 212 keeps what it receives. Access to the programme is at the firm’s discretion.
  • Use Invest, not CFD. CFD is leveraged — you don’t own the asset, and the minimum trade value shown is total exposure including leverage, not the margin needed to open it.
#3 · Lowest entry point · New pick 2026
Scalable Capital

If the question is “what’s the smallest amount I can start with,” Scalable Capital is the answer: savings plan executions cost nothing and the minimum rate is €1 per plan, across more than 2,700 ETFs. It ranks third rather than first only because of reach — one German entity serving five other countries cross-border, against Lightyear’s 26 and Trading 212’s thirty.

  • Eligibility: Scalable Capital Bank GmbH, a single Munich entity supervised by BaFin and the Bundesbank, operating cross-border without local branches into France, Italy, the Netherlands, Spain and Austria. No tied agents.
  • Savings plans: €0 per execution on every plan, minimum €1. The fractional leg executes on the European Investor Exchange (EIX), whose pricing carries no end date in the contract — unlike the venue derogations that expire.
  • Single orders: €0.99 at EIX, or €0 on orders from €250 for PRIME-marked ETFs from Amundi, iShares, Vanguard and Xtrackers, buy-side only. Custody is €0.
  • A sourced caveat no competitor page carries: Scalable’s own broker terms state that savings plan timing and execution depend on tradability and available balance, and “cannot be guaranteed and are not assured.”
  • Currency: a currency conversion markup exists in the binding client contract, and its size is not published anywhere. Any claim that Scalable charges no FX fee is wrong.
  • Fractional rule is stricter than most: fractions can only be acquired through savings plans, and an individual fraction cannot be sold on its own — the entire position has to go.
  • Cash: as a licensed bank, deposits fall under the German statutory scheme at €100,000 per depositor per credit institution. Note that client trust balances are held separately from Scalable’s own funds but not segregated from each other.
  • Transfer out: €0.00 plus any third-party costs — one of the cleanest exit terms in this set.
#4 · Cleanest product line
Trade Republic

Genuinely good at the thing it does — free savings plan executions, EUR-native, and no leveraged product sitting next to the investing account. Two things hold it back for a beginner specifically. The instalment floor is €10, ten times higher than Scalable Capital or Trading 212. And Trade Republic publishes no list of the countries it serves in any document we have read, which is a real problem on a page whose first question is whether you can open it.

  • Savings plans: execution is free, and the €1 settlement flat rate that applies to ordinary trades explicitly does not apply to them. Investment volume per execution is €10 to €10,000 — both a floor and a ceiling.
  • The €1 is a settlement cost, not a commission. The commission line is separately priced at zero. On partial fills it is charged once per trading day, not per fill.
  • Eligibility, stated honestly: Trade Republic Bank GmbH is a single Berlin entity serving every market, but no country list appears in its price list, fee information sheet or customer agreement. What the agreement does state is that the relationship is tied to one country, and that moving country is grounds for termination without notice — expressly including moving to another country Trade Republic serves.
  • Two mechanics worth knowing before you set a plan up: a plan is terminated after nine months of failed executions on insufficient funds and may be cancelled after five consecutive failures; and rounding to the fourth decimal place can make the executed instalment smaller than the amount you set.
  • Savings plans use a pooled average price. Where one instrument is bought for several customers on the same execution date across multiple fills, Trade Republic determines a single average price and settles everyone at it — you are not getting a market price at a point in time.
  • FX: the published margins are absolute amounts in the quoted currency, not percentages — USD 0.0014, GBP 0.0011, CHF 0.0014 — and their stated scope is income conversion, meaning foreign dividends and corporate action proceeds. Whether FX applies to the purchase of a non-EUR asset is not stated.
  • Cash interest must be activated in the app — it is not automatic. Balances blocked by open orders or pending card settlement earn nothing, and any uplift above the base rate is a conditional programme Trade Republic can end on two weeks’ notice.
  • Outgoing portfolio transfer is free, with third-party costs possibly added.
#5 · Established EU-first option
DEGIRO

The most established Europe-first broker on this list, with broad market access and a straightforward ETF buying workflow. It sits fifth for one reason that matters specifically to beginners: there are no fractional shares, and no scheduled or recurring purchase order type exists. That makes a small automated monthly plan harder to run here than on any of the four brokers above.

  • Core Selection: all ETFs, ETCs and ETNs listed on Tradegate Exchange — over 1,000 products — at €1 per transaction, made up of €0.00 commission plus the €1.00 handling fee. No connectivity fee applies. Find them via Products > Trackers (ETFs) > Commission type > Core Selection.
  • Currency or external product and spread costs may apply.
  • ETFs outside the Core Selection cost €2.00 commission plus €1.00 handling — €3.00 all-in.
  • No fractional shares. DEGIRO facilitates whole shares only. A Waardeorder does let you place an order by value rather than by quantity, so you are not forced to calculate a share count — but the order still fills in whole units and the remainder stays as cash.
  • No recurring purchase order type. DEGIRO’s order execution policy lists eight order types and two validity durations; none is a scheduled or recurring purchase.
  • FX: AutoFX at 0.25%, embedded in the trade. Manual FX is €10.00 plus 0.25% on the Dutch, German, French, Irish and Swiss schedules.
  • Connectivity fee: €2.50 per exchange per calendar year, capped at 0.25% of your account value — you pay whichever is lower. Core Selection products are exempt.
  • Entity: DEGIRO is the trading name of flatexDEGIRO Bank Dutch Branch, the Dutch branch of flatexDEGIRO Bank SE, primarily supervised by the German financial regulator (BaFin). The Dutch Branch is registered with DNB and supervised by AFM and DNB. DEGIRO is an execution-only broker and provides no investment advice.
  • No monthly recurring cost and no inactivity fee — but transaction fees and currency, connectivity, external product and spread costs may apply.
#6 · The one you grow into
Interactive Brokers (IBKR)

IBKR is where a lot of European investors eventually end up, and it is genuinely excellent at scale. It is last here on purpose. Almost every structural feature of IBKR’s pricing works against someone contributing a small amount every month, and three of them are specific enough to name.

  • The FX floor is the whole story. A manual spot FX order starts at 0.20 basis points but carries a minimum of USD 2.00 per order. On a €200 monthly conversion that’s about 1%; on €1,000 it’s 0.2%; on €10,000 it’s 0.02%. The headline “0.002%” is only true above roughly $100,000 per conversion. Auto-conversion is a separate mechanism at 3 basis points of trade value — the two are not the same product.
  • Recurring investing is not free. The Recurring Investment feature exists, but on IBKR Pro it charges the standard commission schedule per execution. IBKR Lite, which is commission-free, is available to US residents only and is not offered in Europe.
  • A partial-fill trap that bites hardest at small size. Modified orders count as cancellation plus replacement, and on some exchanges each partial fill carries its own commission minimum. Orders held overnight count as new orders for minimum purposes.
  • Fractional shares are not available everywhere. Not offered in the Baltics, Czechia, Hungary, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania or Slovenia.
  • What it is genuinely best at: venue breadth. No custody fee, no inactivity fee, no account opening fee and no minimum balance — so it costs nothing to keep alongside a simpler account while your portfolio grows into it.
  • Watch the pass-through on Euronext. A €0.75 per-execution exchange fee is passed through on ETF products at Euronext Paris, Amsterdam and Brussels — so a €3.00 Fixed trade is €3.75 all-in, not €3.00.

Mintos: €0 fees, and a position that cannot leave

On cost alone Mintos would top this page. It is not in the table, and the reason is the single most important thing a first-time investor should understand about it.

Self-selected ETFs on Mintos cost €0 to buy, €0 to sell and €0 to hold, with a €1 minimum and fractional units — superficially the perfect beginner setup. Three things keep it out of a beginners ranking.

  • Positions cannot leave the platform. Under Mintos’ terms, fractions may only be sold through Mintos to other platform users and may not be transferred to another person, and the Platform is stated as the sole place of purchase and sale. A €1 ETF order is fractional by construction, so there is no exit route other than selling and withdrawing cash. That is the worst possible property for a first account, where the odds of wanting to move somewhere else later are highest.
  • There is no recurring plan for self-selected ETFs yet. The Investment plan is marked as coming soon. Contractually, an Investment Plan attaches to a Portfolio — and self-selected ETFs are not one — which is why the feature does not exist rather than simply being unreleased.
  • No interest is paid on uninvested cash at all. Mintos does not pay interest on Cash Account funds, may place those funds in money market funds, and retains the interest earned for its own benefit. Every other broker on this page passes something back. Earning anything on cash here means actively moving it into Smart Cash and paying 0.19% p.a. to Mintos plus 0.10% to BlackRock.
  • One conditional charge to know: €4.90 per month after 360 consecutive days with no investment, sale, deposit or withdrawal, charged on the 1st with no minimum balance threshold — but waived entirely if the account holds ETFs, Crypto ETPs, Bonds, Mintos Stock, Smart Cash or Real Estate. For an ETF holder it does not arise.

Mintos is an investment firm, not a credit institution, so no €100,000 deposit guarantee applies to any Mintos product — Smart Cash in particular is a money market fund, not a deposit, and capital is at risk. The honest framing is a legitimate satellite account for someone who already has a primary broker, not a first ETF home.


Beginner broker comparison

Minimum contribution and country eligibility do most of the work here. Commission does very little — five of the six charge nothing to buy an ETF.

Broker Countries served Smallest contribution ETF cost Main beginner risk
Lightyear 26, published €2 fractional Free, no custody Auto-invest only on fractional instruments; no EUR cash interest
Trading 212 ~30, across two entities €1 €0 commission, €0 custody CFD product adjacent to Invest
Scalable Capital 6 (DE + 5 cross-border) €1 per plan €0 on plans; €0.99 single order at EIX Narrowest coverage; FX markup exists but is unpublished
Trade Republic Not published €10 per instalment €0 on savings plans Relationship tied to one country; moving is grounds for termination
DEGIRO Not stated on the fee schedules Whole shares only €1 per Core Selection transaction No fractional shares, no recurring order type
IBKR Broad; fractional excluded in 8 markets No minimum balance Commission per trade; €0.75 Euronext pass-through USD 2.00 FX floor is ~1% on a €200 conversion
DEGIRO Core Selection: currency or external product and spread costs may apply. Figures are taken from each broker’s own published pricing documents and client agreements, read August 2026. Where a broker does not publish a figure, the cell says so rather than showing a zero. Investing involves risk of loss, and currency fluctuations can impact your returns. If your plan involves regular EUR→USD conversions, see cheapest FX in Europe.

Which broker should you pick?

Find your situation below. One row, one answer.

If this describes you Start with
You want a platform where the risky products simply don’t exist, and a country list you can verify before applying Lightyear
You’re in Italy, Portugal, Poland, Greece or another Southern or Central European market and want the widest choice Trading 212 Invest
You want to start with €25 a month or less and automate it immediately Scalable Capital
You can commit €10+ per instalment, want a EUR-native app, and have already confirmed your country is served Trade Republic
You’ll invest larger amounts less often and prefer an established broker with a fixed, published per-trade cost DEGIRO
You’re converting €1,300+ per transaction, or already have a six-figure portfolio to move IBKR
You’re likely to relocate within Europe in the next few years Check the broker’s country list and its terms on changing residency before opening
You’re in a country with specific tax reporting or transaction tax complexity Check your country tax guide first

Why some popular names aren’t ranked

Three well-known brokers appear constantly in competitor beginner guides. Here’s the structural reason each one isn’t ranked here — stated as a fact, not a preference.

Broker Why it’s not a beginner pick
eToro The account and services are provided in US dollars, and eToro’s terms state that all money paid in is converted to USD. Converting between a local currency account and USD costs 0.75%. A EUR account does not remove the dollar from the path — eToro’s own documentation describes EUR being converted to USD, the trade executing from there, and being converted back for EUR-priced assets. And EUR funds cannot be used for CopyTrader or Smart Portfolios at all, which are the products eToro markets hardest. For a European investor buying EUR-listed UCITS ETFs, that is structural friction the brokers above don’t have. The widely repeated “1.5% FX” figure does not appear in any eToro source.
XTB Commission is 0% on cumulative turnover up to €100,000 per calendar month across all your registered accounts, which is genuinely generous. Above that it’s 0.2% with a €10 minimum. The counterweight is a 0.5% currency conversion rate — the highest in this comparison set — and a CFD-first platform heritage that means more navigation decisions for a passive investor.
Saxo Bank Euronext equity and ETF trades are priced at 0.08% of order value with a €2 minimum on the entry tier, not a flat €2. On a €100 monthly contribution that minimum is 2% of the trade. The percentage is competitive at size and the platform is technically strong — it is the floor that makes it the wrong shape for small regular buying.
These brokers may be the right choice for specific countries, portfolio sizes or workflows. See the individual reviews for a full breakdown before ruling them out.

Segregation, compensation and what neither covers

Four mechanisms, each doing a different job. Knowing which one applies to which part of your balance is more useful than knowing which regulator issued the licence.

Segregation of assets

Your investments are held separately from the broker’s own assets, so that on the broker’s insolvency they can be identified and returned rather than falling to its creditors. This is the primary protection and it is a structural requirement, not a compensation payout. Note a nuance most pages skip: separation from the firm’s assets is not the same as separation from other clients’ assets — Scalable Capital’s contract, for example, states plainly that client trust balances are not segregated from each other.

Investor compensation

Where segregated assets cannot be returned, an investor compensation scheme may pay out — typically 90% of the value of the claim, capped at €20,000 per creditor, with all your accounts at that firm aggregated. This covers broker failure only. It does not cover investment losses. Which scheme applies depends on the entity you contracted with, not the app you downloaded: Trading 212 EU clients fall under the German EdW, Trading 212 Cyprus clients under the Cyprus ICF, Lightyear clients under the Estonian Investor Protection Sectoral Fund.

Deposit guarantee — cash only, banks only

Uninvested cash may be covered up to €100,000 per depositor per credit institution, but only where the entity holding it is a bank. Scalable Capital and Trade Republic hold banking licences; Lightyear and Mintos are investment firms, and Mintos states explicitly that no deposit guarantee applies to any of its products. Cash swept into a money market fund is not a deposit and is not covered by either scheme — Trade Republic, Trading 212 and Scalable Capital all use money market funds for some portion of client cash.

Real assets vs CFDs — and securities lending

A real ETF in an Invest account is a fund holding covered by the mechanisms above. A CFD is a leveraged contract — you don’t own the underlying, compensation works differently, and losses can exceed deposits. Separately, ask whether your shares can be lent out: Lightyear does not lend client investments on any account type. DEGIRO offers securities lending in the Netherlands, Spain, Switzerland and Italy only, opt-in and off by default, requiring a signed appendix and an appropriateness test — and once enabled it applies to every eligible holding, not one you pick.

Compensation limits, scheme names and exact terms vary by country and by the specific legal entity your account sits under. Verify which entity you are contracting with — the app name is not always the answer — before depositing significant amounts. Investing involves risk of loss. This is not investment advice.

Use investment accounts. Not CFD accounts.

Several of the most-recommended “beginner brokers” in Europe also sell CFDs. This is the most important product distinction for any new investor to understand before opening an account.

What CFDs are — and why beginners shouldn’t touch them

A CFD (Contract for Difference) is a leveraged financial contract. You don’t own the underlying asset. You’re speculating on price movement with borrowed money, and losses can exceed the amount you deposited. Regulators require brokers to display the percentage of their own retail accounts that lose money trading CFDs — read that figure on the platform itself before going anywhere near the product.

  • Lightyear: the cleanest answer available — CFDs, options, futures and short-selling are not offered on any account type. There is nothing to avoid.
  • Trading 212: use the Invest account only. The CFD account is a separate product with different risk and no asset ownership. Note that the minimum trade value shown on the CFD tab is total exposure including leverage — not the margin needed to open the position, which is what most people assume.
  • Scalable Capital and Trade Republic: neither operates a CFD product alongside the investing account. Scalable does offer derivatives as a separate instrument class; Scalable’s Broker is execution-only, while Scalable separately operates Wealth, a discretionary managed product.
  • General rule: if an app prominently displays leverage multipliers, margin, or copy-trading feeds, you’re looking at a CFD-adjacent product. Navigate to the standard stocks and ETFs section and leave the rest alone until you know exactly what it is.

Beginner broker checklist

Most broker mistakes are made in the first five minutes — before the account is even open. Run through this first.

  1. Confirm your country on the broker’s own site. Not on a comparison page, including this one. Check which legal entity serves you, because that decides your compensation scheme.
  2. Check the minimum against your actual monthly amount. €1, €2 and €10 floors are all described as “free” execution. Only one of them works for a €25 plan.
  3. Confirm UCITS reality. Assume you’re investing through UCITS ETFs unless you’ve confirmed otherwise for your country and account type. (UCITS vs US ETFs explained)
  4. Choose a simple ETF plan. One or two broad UCITS world ETFs is a valid starting point. Don’t overbuild. (Three-fund UCITS portfolio)
  5. Fix your FX workflow — check the floor, not just the rate. A percentage scales with you; a fixed minimum doesn’t. (Cheapest FX brokers in Europe)
  6. If you’re automating, check the instrument is eligible. Recurring plans don’t cover everything — Lightyear’s auto-invest only runs on fractional-labelled instruments, and DEGIRO has no scheduled order type at all. (Best broker for recurring investing)
  7. Check how you’d leave before you arrive. Fractional positions generally cannot be transferred between brokers — they have to be sold first. Ask what a transfer out costs and what happens to fractions.
  8. Check your country’s tax rules. Know whether your broker handles local reporting or whether you’ll calculate it yourself. (Country tax guides)
  9. Commit to a rule, not a feeling. Monthly investing beats waiting for the right time. (DCA vs lump sum)

Ready to open your first account?

Confirm your country is on the list, set up automated contributions into one broad UCITS ETF, and leave it alone. That’s the whole workflow. Investing involves risk of loss.



Frequently asked questions

Can beginners in Europe buy US ETFs like VTI or SPY?

Usually not for EU/UK retail accounts. The restriction comes from the PRIIPs regime and its key information document requirements — it is a regulatory constraint on the fund’s disclosure, not a policy of any individual broker. Most beginners build with UCITS ETFs that track the same indexes: same underlying exposure, compliant wrapper. The practical difference in long-term outcomes is smaller than most people expect, and in some cases UCITS ETFs are structured more tax-efficiently for European holders.

What matters more for beginners: commissions or FX costs?

Neither, usually — minimums matter more than both. Five of the six brokers here charge nothing to buy an ETF, so commission barely differentiates them. What does differentiate them is the floor: a €1 minimum against a €10 minimum changes what you can actually do with €25 a month.

On FX, the same logic applies. A percentage rate scales with your contribution, so 0.15% or 0.35% costs the same proportion whether you invest €50 or €5,000. A fixed minimum does not scale — Interactive Brokers charges a minimum of USD 2.00 per spot FX order, which is roughly 1% on a €200 conversion and roughly 0.02% on €10,000. That single number is why IBKR ranks last on this page and first on pages aimed at larger portfolios. Currency fluctuations can impact your returns.

Which of these brokers can I actually open in my country?

This varies more than most guides admit, and two of the six don’t publish a list at all.

Lightyear publishes 26 countries: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and the UK. Switzerland and Poland are not included — Swiss and Polish shares are tradeable markets, not places Lightyear accepts clients.

Trading 212 serves roughly thirty markets through two entities. Trading 212 EU GmbH covers Germany, Austria, Denmark, Finland, France and French Overseas territories, Iceland, Ireland, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland. Trading 212 Markets Ltd in Cyprus covers Bulgaria, Croatia, Czechia, Estonia, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia and Cyprus. Which one you fall under determines your compensation scheme.

Scalable Capital is one German entity operating cross-border under freedom of services, without local branches, into France, Italy, the Netherlands, Spain and Austria.

Trade Republic publishes no country list in its price list, fee information sheet or customer agreement. DEGIRO’s fee schedules likewise don’t state which countries it accepts. For both, check directly on their site. And for IBKR, note that fractional shares specifically are not offered in the Baltics, Czechia, Hungary, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania or Slovenia, even where accounts are available.

Is Trade Republic good for beginners?

It’s strong on cost and product safety and weaker on entry point and eligibility, which is why it sits fourth rather than first here.

The good part is real: savings plan executions are free, the €1 settlement flat rate that applies to ordinary trades explicitly does not apply to savings plans, and there is no CFD product sitting next to the investing account. Outgoing portfolio transfers are free too.

The limits are equally real. Investment volume per execution runs from €10 to €10,000 — so the minimum is ten times higher than Scalable Capital’s or Trading 212’s. Trade Republic also ties the client relationship to a single country and states that moving country is grounds for termination without notice, expressly including moving to another country it already serves. If you might relocate within Europe, weigh that carefully. Finally, savings plan buys settle at a pooled average price across all customers buying that instrument that day, not at a market price at a moment you choose.

What is the simplest ETF plan for a European beginner?

One broad UCITS world ETF — a MSCI World or FTSE All-World tracker — bought with recurring monthly contributions and reviewed annually. Adding a second ETF for bonds or a regional tilt is optional and rarely urgent at early portfolio sizes. Consistency and low cost outweigh any marginal gains from a more complex allocation when you’re starting out. This is not investment advice; investing involves risk of loss.

What happens to my investments if my broker goes bust?

Investments held by a regulated EU or UK broker should sit in segregated accounts — separate from the broker’s own assets — and be returnable to you. Segregation is the primary protection, and it works structurally rather than by paying anything out.

Where segregated assets cannot be returned, an investor compensation scheme may apply. The typical form is 90% of the value of the claim, capped at €20,000 per creditor, with all your accounts at that firm aggregated toward the cap. Note the 90% — most summaries quote only the €20,000. These schemes cover broker failure. They do not cover investment losses.

Uninvested cash is a separate question. A deposit guarantee scheme may cover up to €100,000 per depositor per credit institution, but only where the entity actually holding the cash is a bank, and only for the portion held as a deposit. Cash swept into a money market fund is not a deposit and falls outside both schemes. Verify which legal entity your account sits under before depositing significant amounts — the app name is not always the answer.

Should I choose a broker based on cash interest rates?

No — and cash interest is a weaker feature than the marketing suggests across this whole set. Trading 212 pays interest only if you opt in; if you don’t enable it, no interest is paid to you and the firm keeps what it receives, and access to the programme is discretionary. Trade Republic requires interest to be activated in the app, pays nothing on balances blocked by open orders, and describes any uplift above the base rate as a programme it can end on two weeks’ notice. Lightyear pays no interest on uninvested euros at all — cash interest is UK-GBP and Hungary-HUF only, and the ~2.2% figures quoted elsewhere are a money market fund with capital at risk. Mintos pays nothing on cash and retains the money market interest for its own benefit.

For a passive ETF investor the variables that actually matter are country eligibility, minimum contribution, UCITS ETF access and cost, FX workflow, and how you would exit. Pick on those, then treat any interest as a bonus.

QuantRoutine provides educational content only. Nothing on this page is an offer, solicitation, or recommendation to buy or sell any security or to open an account with any specific broker. Investments can lose value, and past performance does not guarantee future results. You are responsible for your own investment, tax, and legal decisions. Always review each broker’s current terms, fees, and eligibility on their official website before opening or funding an account.