Scalable Capital vs Trade Republic (2026):
the complete breakdown
Updated September 2026 · Every figure below is taken from each broker’s own published price list or client documents
Scalable Capital reprices on 1 September 2026: a flat €1.99 per manual order on both plans, with savings plans still free. Trade Republic charges no commission and a €1 settlement flat rate. Below: what each one actually costs, what the contracts say that the marketing does not, and where each broker falls short.
Some of the links on this site are affiliate links, meaning we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you if you sign up through them. This does not affect our reviews or recommendations — we only feature products we genuinely believe are useful for investors. This site provides educational content only, not personalized investment advice. Investments can lose value and past performance does not guarantee future results. You are responsible for your own financial decisions and for confirming the tax and legal rules that apply in your country.
TL;DR
- You run savings plans from as little as €1, with no stated maximum.
- You want discretionary managed portfolios and you live in Germany or Austria.
- You want funds alongside ETFs on the same savings plan mechanism.
- You want a separate cash account paying 2.60% p.a. with no balance cap.
- You prefer a full desktop web platform over mobile-first.
- You want a broker that publishes its price list as a binding contract you can read.
- You place manual orders — €1 beats €1.99 at every frequency.
- You want real crypto rather than exchange traded products.
- You want banking features: a card, an IBAN, a current account.
- You want fractional one-off buys from €1, not only through savings plans.
- You want no monthly subscription of any kind.
- You spend abroad — card currency conversion is priced at €0.
Full feature comparison
Scalable Capital sells two plans, FREE and PRIME+, shown separately where they differ. Where a broker’s own documents state nothing, this table says so rather than filling the gap.
| Feature | Scalable FREE | Scalable PRIME+ | Trade Republic |
|---|---|---|---|
| Monthly fee | €0 | €4.99 / month | €0 |
| Manual order (from 01.09.2026) | €1.99 flat | €1.99 flat | €0 commission + €1 settlement flat rate |
| Savings plan execution | €0 per plan | €0 per plan | €0 per execution |
| Savings plan amount limits | From €1, no stated maximum | From €1, no stated maximum | €10 minimum, €10,000 maximum per execution |
| Savings plan intervals | Monthly, bi-monthly, quarterly, semi-annual, annual — on nine set days | Monthly, bi-monthly, quarterly, semi-annual, annual — on nine set days | Not stated in published documents |
| Savings plan instruments | ETFs, shares, crypto ETPs, funds | ETFs, shares, crypto ETPs, funds | ETFs, shares, ELTIFs, crypto |
| ETFs on savings plans | 2,700+ | 2,700+ | No figure published |
| Fractional shares | Savings plans only | Savings plans only | One-off buys from €1 |
| Crypto structure | ETPs — 0.99% spread surcharge per execution | ETPs — 0.69% spread surcharge per execution | Real coins — transfers €0 plus network fees; spread not stated |
| Direct bonds | Priced in the contract: €1.99 flat plus up to 5% spread surcharge | Priced in the contract: €1.99 flat plus up to 5% spread surcharge | No bond pricing line published |
| Interest on uninvested cash | Broker cash 0% — separate Overnight account 2.60% p.a. variable, no cap | Broker cash 0% — separate Overnight account 2.60% p.a. variable, no cap | Rate shown in the app, must be activated; German site advertised 2.25% p.a. on 31 Aug 2026 |
| Where cash sits | Scalable, partner banks and qualifying money market funds | Scalable and partner banks | Omnibus trust accounts; above the Partner Amount, qualified money market funds |
| Cash protection | Statutory €100,000 per depositor per credit institution | Product pages describe distribution across up to five banks, plus a voluntary scheme | Statutory EU compensation scheme — no figure or scheme named |
| Managed portfolios | Scalable Wealth — not available in FR, NL, ES, IT | Scalable Wealth — not available in FR, NL, ES, IT | None |
| Overdraft / credit line | Credit — variable debit interest 4.49% p.a., charged quarterly | Credit — variable debit interest 3.49% p.a., charged quarterly | Not offered |
| Card / IBAN | No — cash accounts are for saving, not payments | No — cash accounts are for saving, not payments | Yes — virtual €0, Classic €5, Mirror €50 one-off |
| Instant / card deposit | 0.99% up to €5,000, every further euro free | 0.69% up to €5,000, every further euro free | First deposit free, then 1% of the amount |
| Outgoing securities transfer | €0 plus third-party costs | €0 plus third-party costs | €0 plus third-party costs |
| Account opening time | Up to 3 business days | Up to 3 business days | Not stated in published documents |
| Support routes | In-app, web, email — no published phone number | In-app, web, email — no published phone number | Not described in published documents |
| Countries | DE, AT, FR, IT, NL, ES | No list published — the relationship is tied to one country | |
| Entity and regulator | Scalable Capital Bank GmbH — BaFin and Bundesbank | Trade Republic Bank GmbH — BaFin | |
What each broker charges from 1 September 2026
The September repricing changes the answer to this comparison. Scalable’s manual order price is now identical on both plans, which removes the arithmetic that used to justify the subscription.
From 1 September 2026 Scalable’s fee page shows two rows — PRIME ETFs and per trade — and both are priced at €1.99 on FREE and €1.99 on PRIME+, on Xetra and gettex. There is no order size threshold and no zero-cost row.
Because the order price is the same on both plans, PRIME+ has no per-order break-even at any trade count. What €4.99 a month buys is the 0.69% crypto surcharge instead of 0.99%, the lower Instant deposit rate, 3.49% instead of 4.49% debit interest on Credit, a different cash distribution limb, and the extended feature set.
Trade Republic’s price list prices the order commission at zero and charges a separate €1 settlement cost flat rate per trade. Anyone describing that €1 as a commission has the structure wrong — the two lines are priced separately, and the flat rate excludes savings plans entirely.
One detail worth knowing and rarely published: on partial fills the €1 is charged once per trading day, not once per fill. A large order that executes in five pieces still costs €1.
| Manual orders per month | Scalable FREE (annual) | Scalable PRIME+ (annual) | Trade Republic (annual) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2 trades / month | €47.76 | €107.64 | €24.00 |
| 6 trades / month | €143.28 | €203.16 | €72.00 |
| 15 trades / month | €358.20 | €418.08 | €180.00 |
Savings plan executions excluded — €0 at both brokers. Scalable at €1.99 per order on both plans from 01.09.2026; PRIME+ adds €59.88 of subscription a year. Trade Republic at €0 commission plus the €1 settlement flat rate, charged once per trading day. Excludes spreads, product costs, currency conversion and crypto surcharges.
ETFs, funds and fixed income
Catalogue headline numbers are the least reliable figures in this category — brokers restate them in marketing and rarely in documents. Below is what each broker’s own published sources actually support.
- 2,700+ ETFs available on savings plans, stated on Scalable’s own ETF savings plan page.
- Savings plans can also be set up on shares, crypto ETPs and funds — funds are in the eligible list, which is unusual.
- Fractional exposure only through savings plans. You cannot buy a fraction in a single manual order.
- Direct bonds are priced in the contract at the flat €1.99 order rate plus a spread surcharge of up to 5%, with bonds from one PRIME partner exempt from that surcharge.
- Savings plan coverage is stated as ETFs, shares, ELTIFs and crypto. Bonds are not in that list, so a bond ladder built from savings plans is not available.
- Fractional one-off buys from €1, stated on Trade Republic’s own site.
- No ETF, stock or bond catalogue figure appears in the price list or the customer agreement, so we publish none.
- Real cryptocurrency rather than exchange traded products — the clearest product-level difference between the two.
Both are free. The mechanics are completely different.
Execution cost is €0 on both, so the comparison lives entirely in the rules underneath — and neither broker puts these in its marketing.
- Five banking days is the single lead time that governs everything: changing a plan, funding the clearing account, changing the payment method. Later than that and the change applies to the next execution.
- Unlimited plans, but only one plan per security.
- Five intervals — monthly, bi-monthly, quarterly, semi-annual, annual — on nine execution days a month.
- Fractions are bought to six decimal places and always rounded down, so the savings rate is never exceeded and a small remainder stays in the clearing account.
- Plan amounts are reserved from the clearing balance several days in advance. Where the balance is short at that moment, a direct debit from your reference account is used as a fallback — so you may see a debit you never selected.
- A savings plan purchase cannot be sold the same day, because the units are only fully booked by the custodian the following day.
- Crypto ETP plans carry the 0.99% / 0.69% spread surcharge. They are the one exception to the savings plan zero.
- Each execution must be between €10 and €10,000 — a stated floor and a stated ceiling.
- Where one instrument is bought for many customers on the same date across several partial fills, Trade Republic determines a single average price and settles every customer at it. You do not get a market price at a moment; you get the pooled average for that day.
- Rounding to the fourth decimal place can make the executed instalment smaller than the amount you set.
- A plan is terminated after nine months of failed executions for insufficient funds, and may be cancelled after five consecutive failures. Units already accumulated are unaffected.
- The €1 settlement flat rate does not apply to savings plans at all.
Interest on uninvested cash: one broker publishes a rate, the other does not
This is the section where broker marketing and broker documents diverge most sharply, and where most comparison pages simply repeat a headline number.
- Broker clearing balance: 0% p.a. on both plans. Cash sitting in the brokerage account earns nothing.
- Overnight account: 2.60% p.a. (variable), no balance cap, identical on FREE and PRIME+. It is a separate account, applied for as part of the customer contract and used for saving rather than payments.
- Interest accrues daily and is credited monthly on the German product page.
- Rates and distribution are described as variable with market rates, capacities and conditions — not as tracking any specific central bank rate.
- The price list also carries a safekeeping charge line for cash balances, with the rate published on the website or in the apps. We could not locate a rate, so do not assume it is nil.
- No interest rate appears in the price list or the customer agreement. The rate is shown in the app. Trade Republic’s German site advertised 2.25% p.a. on 31 August 2026.
- Interest must be activated in the app — it is not automatic.
- Any rate above the base rate comes from a discretionary top-up Program with eligibility conditions set in the app, which Trade Republic may end at any time on two weeks’ notice.
- Balances blocked by open securities orders or pending card settlement earn nothing.
- Trade Republic reserves the right to pass on negative interest.
Scalable Capital. The contract attaches no plan condition: every client instructs Scalable to hold funds in one or more open omnibus trust accounts and/or with one or more qualifying money market funds, and distribution varies from client to client. On the fee page, FREE balances are described as distributed across Scalable, partner banks and qualifying money market funds, and PRIME+ balances across Scalable and partner banks; the product pages describe distribution across up to five banks with statutory cover of €100,000 each plus a voluntary scheme. The contract closes the point plainly: a client’s funds may end up held with only one trustee bank, or in one money market fund — each is possible as the sole safekeeping method. Money held in a money market fund is not a bank deposit and is not covered by the deposit guarantee.
Trade Republic. Client funds sit in omnibus trust accounts, in principle divided equally into two, pooled with other customers’ money. Funds above a threshold Trade Republic calls the Partner Amount — which it sets in the app and can raise or lower at will, and does not publish — are continuously invested in qualified money market funds in Trade Republic’s name for the client’s account. Its price list states only that Trade Republic and the trust banks belong to a statutory compensation scheme in the European Union. No figure, no scheme name and no per-bank limit appears in any published document, and the money market fund portion is not a deposit at all.
Real coins vs ETPs — a structural difference, not a preference
Both brokers offer crypto exposure. What you own, and what it costs, differ at the product level.
Scalable’s crypto exposure is delivered through exchange-listed products that track a crypto price rather than through the coins themselves. Structurally these are securities: your counterparty is the product issuer, not a blockchain.
- A spread surcharge of 0.99% on FREE and 0.69% on PRIME+ applies to every execution, including savings plan executions.
- Scalable’s own footnote extends that surcharge to every instrument tracking a cryptocurrency — ETPs, ETCs and ETNs alike.
- This is the one place where the savings plan zero does not hold.
Trade Republic offers actual cryptocurrency, and its price list treats it as a held asset rather than a security wrapper.
- Crypto custody: €0. Staking: €0.
- Execution of crypto transfers is priced at €0 plus network fees — the price list contemplates moving coins out.
- The €1 settlement flat rate applies to ordinary crypto trades; only order execution under Crypto Spending is excluded.
- A spread applies on top, and Trade Republic does not quantify it anywhere. Treat the €1 as the visible part of the cost.
Scalable Wealth and Credit — two products Trade Republic does not offer
Both are genuine differentiators. One of them is unavailable in most of the countries this site covers, and that has to come first.
Scalable Wealth is contractually discretionary portfolio management — Scalable manages the assets on your behalf, rather than executing your instructions. That makes it a different regulatory product from the broker, and it is why “Scalable Capital is execution-only” is only true of the Broker.
Availability is the constraint that decides this for most readers. Scalable states on its own country sites that Wealth is not yet available in France, the Netherlands, Spain or Italy. Germany and Austria are the only markets where no such line appears. If you are reading this from Amsterdam, Paris, Madrid or Milan, the managed product is not currently openable.
Where it is available, management is charged in bands and applied marginally: 0.75% p.a. up to €100,000, 0.69% above €100,000 and 0.49% above €500,000, with product costs on top depending on the strategy. The 0.75% figure quoted on most comparison sites is the entry band, not a flat rate.
Scalable offers Credit, a granted overdraft on the clearing account with variable debit interest charged quarterly — 4.49% p.a. on FREE and 3.49% p.a. on PRIME+ on the German fee page. The contract fixes only the cadence and the variability; the rate itself is published on the website and can move.
Related, and more likely to catch you out: Scalable may accept and execute purchase orders against direct debits that have not yet reached their value date, and states plainly that the clearing account may be further overdrawn as a result. Instant deposits are the visible version of this and are priced at 0.99% / 0.69% up to €5,000.
The French fee page carries no Credit row at all, so do not assume availability outside Germany. Trade Republic’s price list marks overdraft facilities as not applicable.
Banking, currency conversion and account scope
Both hold banking licences and use them for entirely different purposes. Currency conversion is the cost most investors never look at, and the two brokers handle it in opposite ways.
- Full web dashboard plus iOS and Android apps.
- Licence held by Scalable Capital Bank GmbH, granted by BaFin, with BaFin and the Bundesbank as home-state authorities. No card and no personal IBAN — the cash accounts are for saving, expressly not for payment processing.
- Account opening takes up to 3 business days after identification, via POSTIDENT or Fourthline depending on your country.
- Available in Germany, Austria, France, Italy, the Netherlands and Spain, from one legal entity operating cross-border.
- Kids’ accounts are stated as available to residents of Germany, France, Spain and the Netherlands only, at no additional cost.
- Mobile-first, with a browser-based platform alongside the app.
- Licence held by Trade Republic Bank GmbH, a CRR credit institution supervised by BaFin, used to run a full current account, an IBAN and a debit card: virtual free, Classic €5 one-off, Mirror €50 one-off.
- ATM withdrawals under €100 cost €1; from €100 they are free, including abroad.
- Transfers in and out, standing orders and direct debits are all priced at zero. Instant card deposits are free once and then cost 1%.
- Your relationship is tied to one country. Moving country is expressly grounds for termination without notice — including moving to another country Trade Republic serves. So is using the custody account jointly with someone else.
Support routes, and the terms neither broker advertises
Support is not a differentiator between these two. What is in the contracts is more useful, and more checkable.
Scalable Capital names three routes: Support inside the app under Profile, the Support tab on the web platform, and email to its client service address if you have no account or no access. It states that requests submitted through the app are prioritised, and it publishes no general customer support telephone number.
Trade Republic’s price list and customer agreement describe no support channels, so we publish none rather than repeat what other sites assert.
- Both brokers keep third-party inducements. Scalable’s clients agree it may retain them; Trade Republic’s agreement expressly removes the client’s claim to have them forwarded. Amounts are disclosed once a year.
- Scalable’s fee schedule prices nothing for withdrawals, inactivity or closing an account. That schedule is exhaustive and it does price other things at €0.00 explicitly — so read the silence as silence, not as a guaranteed zero.
- Trade Republic’s ordinary termination notice is two months, and a change of country of residence is grounds for immediate termination.
Platform stability during market stress
Both brokers have failed under load. This belongs in any honest comparison, and so does the reason it matters less than it sounds for most readers.
During the sell-off triggered by US tariff announcements, both Scalable Capital and Trade Republic suffered access problems, loading delays and portfolio display failures on the morning of Monday 7 April 2025, reported at the time by tagesschau.de and the Financial Times. German supervisors subsequently treated broker resilience under load as a supervisory matter.
German law firms publicly invited affected investors to have damages claims assessed. The practical obstacle is evidential: the investor carries the full burden of proving that they intended to place a specific order at a specific price and that the outage is what prevented it. Without documented evidence of an attempted order, that is difficult to establish after the fact.
Scalable Capital reports more than one million clients and over €50 billion of platform assets. Growth at that pace creates a standing tension between product ambition and infrastructure capacity, and April 2025 is what that tension looks like on a bad day.
If your strategy is monthly plans and occasional rebalancing, an outage during a volatile morning costs you nothing. You are not trying to execute at a moment. At Trade Republic in particular, the pooled average-price mechanic means the moment is not yours to choose anyway.
If you need execution to be available when prices are moving fast, neither platform is engineered for that. Interactive Brokers is the usual European alternative for that use case, at the cost of a considerably steeper platform.
Who each broker actually fits
- Investors who save small amounts often — plans start at €1 with no stated ceiling.
- German and Austrian residents who want discretionary managed portfolios alongside self-directed investing.
- Investors who want funds on the same savings plan mechanism as ETFs.
- Anyone holding a meaningful cash buffer who wants 2.60% p.a. with no balance cap in a separate account.
- Desktop-first users who prefer a full web dashboard.
- Readers who want to check the pricing themselves — Scalable publishes its price list as part of a binding contract.
- Anyone who places manual orders at all — €1 is cheaper than €1.99, at every frequency.
- Investors who want real coin ownership, with transfers priced at €0 plus network fees.
- Investors who want a card, an IBAN and a current account in the same app.
- People who spend abroad — card conversion is priced at €0 in both directions.
- Investors buying fractionally outside a savings plan, from €1.
- Anyone who wants no subscription decision to make at all.
Both are optimised for European retail simplicity, and both fund that simplicity in ways their contracts describe and their marketing does not: retained inducements, undisclosed or unquantified spreads, pooled client cash and, at Scalable, an unpublished currency markup. As portfolios grow and multi-currency needs appear — particularly for anyone buying USD-denominated assets regularly — Interactive Brokers becomes worth evaluating on FX workflow and execution capacity alone.
For most European investors running a simple UCITS ETF strategy through savings plans, either broker here is a legitimate, low-cost choice, and the running cost is identical at zero. The decision is about product fit — managed portfolios and funds on one side, real crypto and banking features on the other — plus the manual order price if you ever place one.
Ready to open an account?
Both brokers run savings plans at zero cost per execution. Pick on product fit — managed portfolios and funds, or real crypto and banking features — and on whether you place manual orders.
Go deeper
Frequently asked questions
Is Scalable Capital’s FREE plan actually free?
Savings plan executions cost €0 per plan from €1 on both plans, and that is unaffected by the September repricing. Manual trades are a different matter: from 1 September 2026 Scalable’s fee page prices every manual order at a flat €1.99 on both FREE and PRIME+, on both the PRIME ETF row and the per-trade row. Because the per-order price is identical on both plans, PRIME+ at €4.99 a month has no per-order break-even. What the subscription buys is the lower crypto spread surcharge (0.69% instead of 0.99%), the lower Instant deposit rate, the lower Credit debit interest, a different cash distribution limb and the extended feature set.
Which broker is cheaper for a passive ETF investor?
For a pure savings plan investor, both are free: Scalable charges €0 per execution from €1 with no stated maximum, and Trade Republic charges €0 per execution within a stated band of €10 to €10,000. The difference appears the moment you place a manual order. Scalable charges a flat €1.99 from 1 September 2026. Trade Republic charges no commission and a €1 settlement flat rate, which is charged once per trading day even where the order fills in several parts. On manual orders Trade Republic is the cheaper of the two at every frequency.
Do Scalable Capital and Trade Republic offer real crypto?
Trade Republic offers real cryptocurrency, and its price list prices crypto custody and staking at zero and execution of crypto transfers at zero plus network fees. Scalable Capital offers crypto exposure through exchange traded products, which are securities tracking a crypto price rather than the coins themselves. Costs differ in structure too: Scalable adds a spread surcharge of 0.99% on FREE and 0.69% on PRIME+ to every crypto execution including savings plan executions, which is the one exception to its savings plan zero. Trade Republic’s €1 settlement flat rate applies to ordinary crypto trades, and a spread applies on top that Trade Republic does not quantify in any published document.
Which broker pays more interest on uninvested cash?
The two cannot be compared on a headline rate, because Trade Republic does not publish one in its price list or customer agreement. Scalable pays 0% on the broker clearing balance on both plans, and 2.60% p.a. variable on its separate Overnight account with no balance cap, accrued daily and credited monthly. Trade Republic shows its rate in the app; interest has to be activated by the client and is not automatic, balances blocked by open orders or pending card settlement earn nothing, and any rate above the base rate comes from a discretionary top-up Program that Trade Republic may end on two weeks’ notice. Its German site advertised 2.25% p.a. on 31 August 2026. Cash above an undisclosed threshold Trade Republic calls the Partner Amount sits in a qualified money market fund rather than a bank deposit.
Does Trade Republic have a robo-advisor or managed portfolios?
No. Trade Republic is self-directed only. Scalable Capital operates Scalable Wealth, which is contractually discretionary portfolio management rather than an execution service. The constraint that matters is availability: Scalable states on its own country sites that Wealth is not yet available in France, the Netherlands, Spain or Italy. Germany and Austria are the only markets where no such line appears. For most readers outside the German-speaking markets, the managed product is not openable.
Are both brokers reliable during market crashes?
Neither has a clean record. On 7 April 2025, during the sell-off triggered by US tariff announcements, both platforms suffered access problems, loading delays and portfolio display failures, reported by tagesschau.de and the Financial Times, and German supervisors subsequently treated broker resilience as a supervisory matter. German law firms publicly invited affected investors to examine damages claims, but the investor carries the full burden of proving that a specific order at a specific price failed because of the outage, which is difficult after the fact. For a savings plan investor these episodes matter very little. For anyone who needs execution at a chosen moment, neither platform is built for it.
Which broker has better customer support?
Scalable Capital names three support routes in its help centre: the Support entry inside the app profile, the Support tab on the web platform, and email to its client service address for anyone without account access. It states that requests submitted through the app are prioritised, and it publishes no general customer support telephone number. Trade Republic’s price list and customer agreement describe no support channels at all, so we publish none. Support is not a strong point at either broker and it is not a sound basis for choosing between them.
Get the free toolkit sample
A working broker cost calculator — IBKR vs DEGIRO vs Trading 212, with verified September 2026 fees. You’ll also get 4 short emails on cutting your investing costs. Unsubscribe anytime.
QuantRoutine provides educational content only. Nothing on this page is an offer, solicitation, or recommendation to buy or sell any security or to open an account with any specific broker. Investments can lose value, and past performance does not guarantee future results. You are responsible for your own investment, tax, and legal decisions. Always review each broker’s current terms, fees, and eligibility on their official website before opening or funding an account.