Interactive Brokers vs Saxo Bank

Broker Comparison · Updated September 2026

Interactive Brokers vs Saxo Bank (2026):
Fees, FX and savings plans compared

Fees verified September 2026 against official pricing pages — see our methodology

Investing involves risk of loss. This is not investment advice. Currency fluctuations can impact your returns.

Neither broker is cheaper across the board. Saxo wins on small EUR ETF orders on Euronext, and it runs zero-commission savings plans in France and the Netherlands. IBKR wins on larger orders and on any currency conversion, where 0.03% against 0.25% is the biggest gap on this page. Saxo’s prices are set per country, so this page quotes its French, Dutch and Belgian branches separately, against IBKR Ireland.

Interactive Brokers vs Saxo Bank hero banner showing a side-by-side broker comparison with two phone screens and a central feature table comparing fees, ETF availability, fractional shares, and available products, with EU context elements like coins, passports, and a world map background.

Some of the links on this site are affiliate links, meaning we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you if you sign up through them. This does not affect our reviews or recommendations — we only feature products we genuinely believe are useful for investors. This site provides educational content only, not personalized investment advice. Investments can lose value and past performance does not guarantee future results. You are responsible for your own financial decisions and for confirming the tax and legal rules that apply in your country.


TL;DR

Choose IBKR if
  • You place larger orders: above about €4,690 on Euronext and €3,750 on Xetra, IBKR’s 0.05% beats Saxo’s entry-tier 0.08%.
  • You buy anything priced in USD or another foreign currency: 0.03% automatic conversion against Saxo’s 0.25%.
  • You want fractional shares across most EU markets.
  • You live outside France, the Netherlands and Belgium, where this page has no Saxo pricing to compare.
Choose Saxo if
  • You buy EUR ETFs on Euronext in small monthly amounts: €2.00 per €500 order against €3.75 at IBKR Fixed.
  • You live in France or the Netherlands and want a zero-commission savings plan (Belgium’s costs €2 a month).
  • You want a bank: cash is covered by the Danish deposit guarantee up to €100,000.
  • You live in Belgium or the Netherlands and want exchange tax and withholding settled automatically.

Quick comparison

Saxo figures are for its French (Saxo Banque), Dutch (Saxo Nederland) and Belgian branches, all part of Saxo Bank A/S. Italy is served by BG Saxo, a separate business, and Germany and Spain have no local Saxo fee schedule, so none of those are priced here. IBKR figures are for Interactive Brokers Ireland, which serves EU and EEA clients.

Category Interactive Brokers Saxo Bank (FR / NL / BE)
ETF commission, Euronext Fixed 0.05%, min €3, plus €0.75 ETF exchange fee per execution (€3.75 on a small order) 0.08%, min €2 at entry tier; NL capped at €150
ETF commission, Xetra Fixed 0.05%, min €3, no third-party fees; Tiered about €2.40 all-in on a small order 0.08%, min €3 at entry tier
FX conversion 0.03% automatic; spot order from 0.002%, min USD 2.00 0.25%, every tier
Custody fee None charged by IBKR (third parties may charge) €0 in FR (except unlisted securities in a PEA), NL and BE
Service fee None NL only: 0.01% of portfolio a month, max €40, rebated as one-month trading credit
Recurring ETF investing Recurring Investments on shares; ETF eligibility not stated; normal commissions FR plan €0 per purchase; NL AutoInvest €0 per purchase; BE AutoInvest €2 a month
Fractional shares AT, BE, DK, FR, DE, IT, NL, ES, SE, CH, UK; min €1.25 NL AutoInvest on some funds and ETFs; BE AutoInvest whole units only
Pricing structure Fixed or Tiered, chosen by you; no Tiered in Spain, Czech Republic, Romania or Slovenia Asset-linked tiers: FR Classic / Platinum / VIP; NL and BE Bronze / Silver / Gold
Cash interest EUR above €10,000, scaled down for accounts under USD 100,000 Top tier only: FR VIP, NL and BE Gold
Banking licence No, investment firm Yes, Danish credit institution
Cash protection No deposit guarantee €100,000 per depositor, cash only
Tax handling Annual tax statement; PEA, ISK and TBSZ accounts for FR, SE and HU tax residents BE and NL exchange tax and withholding settled automatically; FR IFU statement
Platforms Client Portal, IBKR Desktop, IBKR Mobile, TWS, GlobalTrader SaxoTrader and SaxoInvestor, both with every account
Minimum deposit None None in most countries

Source: Interactive Brokers Ireland published commissions, interest, fractional-trading and account pages; Saxo Tarifs 2026 (France, effective 5 May 2026), Tarieven Zelf Beleggen (Netherlands, July 2026 edition; Belgium, effective 1 October 2025) and Saxo’s regional account-level and AutoInvest pages. Verified September 2026.


ETF commissions: where each broker wins

Saxo charges a percentage with a minimum that depends on the exchange. IBKR Fixed charges 0.05% with a €3 minimum, but on Euronext Amsterdam, Brussels and Paris it passes through a €0.75 exchange fee on ETFs. That fee is why the answer flips with order size.

Scenario (EUR UCITS ETF) IBKR Fixed Saxo entry tier Cheaper
€500 order, Euronext €3.75 €2.00 Saxo
€500 a month for a year, Euronext €45.00 €24.00 Saxo
€500 order, Xetra €3.00 €3.00 Equal
€10,000 order, Euronext €5.75 €8.00 IBKR
€10,000 order, Xetra €5.00 €8.00 IBKR
€10,000 order, Euronext, Saxo €200k tier €5.75 €5.00 Saxo

QuantRoutine arithmetic from published rates: IBKR Fixed 0.05%, min €3, plus €0.75 per execution on Euronext ETFs; Saxo 0.08%, min €2 on Euronext and €3 on Xetra at entry tier, 0.05% at the €200,000 tier. Source: Interactive Brokers Ireland European commission schedule; Saxo Tarifs 2026 (FR) and Tarieven Zelf Beleggen (NL, BE). Verified September 2026.

Interactive Brokers
  • Fixed: 0.05%, min €3 in Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands and Spain. Portugal is 0.15%, min €6; the Baltics min €10.
  • Euronext ETFs: €0.75 exchange fee per execution on top of Fixed, so a small order costs €3.75.
  • Tiered: 0.05%, min €1.25, plus exchange, clearing and regulatory fees. On Xetra that is about €2.40 all-in on a small order. IBKR states these pass-through fees may exceed what it pays the venue.
  • No Tiered in Spain, the Czech Republic, Romania or Slovenia.
Saxo Bank
  • Euronext: 0.08% / 0.05% / 0.03% by tier, min €2 at every tier. The Netherlands caps it at €150 at entry tier and €75 above.
  • Xetra: 0.08% / 0.05% / 0.03%, min €3. Frankfurt and other Deutsche Börse venues: min €5.
  • Irish Stock Exchange: 0.12% at entry tier, min €5, on all three branches.
  • US exchanges: 0.08% at entry tier, min USD 1, before the 0.25% conversion.
The crossover: at entry tier, Saxo is cheaper on Euronext below about €4,690 per order, and IBKR is cheaper above it. On Xetra they cost the same up to €3,750, and IBKR is cheaper above. At Saxo’s €200,000 tier (France Platinum, Netherlands and Belgium Silver), Saxo is cheaper on Euronext ETFs at every order size and equal on Xetra.

FX: IBKR’s clearest advantage

FX only applies when you buy something priced outside your account currency, such as US shares or a USD line of an ETF. A EUR investor buying EUR lines of UCITS ETFs pays no conversion at either broker. When conversion does apply, the gap is large.

Interactive Brokers
  • Automatic conversion: 0.03% of trade value, applied when you buy a foreign-currency asset without converting first.
  • Spot FX order: from 0.002% of trade value, minimum USD 2.00 per order.
  • Automatic is cheaper below about USD 6,667 per conversion; the spot order is cheaper above.
  • Deposit and trade in up to 29 currencies.
Saxo Bank
  • 0.25% on conversions, at every tier, in France, the Netherlands and Belgium.
  • Up to 4 currency sub-accounts from 24 currencies, depending on account type and country.
  • On a non-EUR account in Belgium, conversion costs can also apply to exchange tax and withholding tax.
Conversion scenario IBKR automatic IBKR spot order Saxo
€10,000 converted once €3.00 USD 2.00 (minimum applies) €25.00
€500 a month for 10 years (€60,000) €18.00 USD 240 (120 × USD 2.00) €150.00

QuantRoutine arithmetic from published rates: IBKR 0.03% automatic, spot order from 0.002% with USD 2.00 minimum; Saxo 0.25%. Excludes commissions and market spreads. Source: Interactive Brokers pricing pages; Saxo Tarieven Zelf Beleggen (NL, BE). Verified September 2026.

For how conversion costs build up over time, see the FX drag study and the IBKR currency conversion guide.

Savings plans: Saxo has three, IBKR has none

Saxo runs a different automated ETF plan in each of its three branches, each at a different price. IBKR has a scheduling feature but charges normal commissions on every purchase.

Saxo France: Plan Épargne Programmé Saxo
  • €0 per purchase, no monthly fee, no minimum amount.
  • 20 eligible ETFs: 14 Amundi, 5 iShares, 1 SPDR.
  • Executes on the 5th of the month. If the balance is short, the whole cycle is skipped.
  • Not available inside a PEA, even for the six funds with “PEA” in their name.
Saxo Netherlands: AutoInvest
  • €0 per purchase on a selection of funds and ETFs on SaxoInvestor, EUR account only.
  • The 0.01% monthly service fee (max €40) still applies. It is rebated as trading credit valid one month, which an AutoInvest-only client has no commission to spend on.
  • Executes on the 4th or 28th, your choice, only if the balance covers the amount.
  • Some funds and ETFs can be bought fractionally.
Saxo Belgium: AutoInvest
  • €2 per month per plan, whatever the amount, charged even in months with no purchase.
  • About 80 non-complex ETFs from Amundi, iShares and State Street; no commodity ETFs.
  • Executes on the 5th of the month or the next trading day. Whole units only.
  • Up to 10 plans, each charged separately.
IBKR: Recurring Investments
  • Daily, weekly or monthly purchases of available US, Canadian and European shares, using fractional shares.
  • IBKR Ireland does not state whether UCITS ETFs qualify.
  • Normal commissions: budget €3.00 per purchase on Fixed (plus €0.75 on Euronext ETFs), with €1.25 as the fractional minimum.
  • Fractional positions cannot be transferred out of IBKR; they must be sold first.

Sales from all three Saxo plans are charged at the normal commission. Source: Saxo Tarifs 2026 and PEPS ETF list (FR), Saxo Nederland AutoInvest page and Tarieven Zelf Beleggen (NL), Saxo België AutoInvest help article (BE), Interactive Brokers Ireland Recurring Investments and fractional-trading pages. Verified September 2026.

Comparing automated ETF investing across more brokers? See the best broker for recurring investing in Europe.

How pricing tiers work

Saxo’s tiers depend on how much you hold, and the tier names differ by country. IBKR’s Fixed and Tiered plans are chosen, not earned.

Saxo branch Entry Middle tier Top tier
France Classic, no minimum Platinum: €200,000 initial deposit or 120,000 points VIP: €850,000 initial deposit or 500,000 points
Netherlands Bronze Silver: from €200,000 total assets Gold: from €1,000,000 total assets
Belgium Bronze Silver: from €200,000 total assets Gold: from €1,000,000 total assets
Euronext / Xetra ETF rate 0.08% 0.05% 0.03%

Minimums stay €2 on Euronext and €3 on Xetra at every tier. The 0.25% FX rate does not change with tier. Source: Saxo Rewards page and Tarifs 2026 (FR); Saxo account-level pages (NL, BE). Verified September 2026.

Saxo tier mechanics
  • Netherlands and Belgium: upgrade is automatic the day after you qualify; the tier is held for the current month plus two, and you drop after two consecutive months below the minimum.
  • France: points also count. Stock and ETF trades earn 250 points per €10,000 traded, so reaching Platinum on trading alone takes about €4.8 million of volume in the four-month window (QuantRoutine arithmetic).
IBKR Fixed vs Tiered
  • Fixed: one rate with exchange and clearing fees included, except the €0.75 Euronext ETF fee.
  • Tiered: lower commission plus itemised third-party fees; the rate falls with monthly volume above €50 million.
  • Tiered is not offered in Spain, the Czech Republic, Romania or Slovenia.

Custody, cash interest and other costs

Interactive Brokers
  • Custody: IBKR charges none; third parties may.
  • Inactivity and account fees: none; no minimum balance.
  • Deposits: bank transfer and incoming wire free.
  • Withdrawals: two free per calendar month, then €1.00 per EUR SEPA or €8.00 per EUR wire.
Saxo Bank
  • Custody: €0 in France (except unlisted securities in a PEA: 0.4% of plan value plus €25 per line a year), €0 in the Netherlands and Belgium.
  • Netherlands service fee: 0.01% of portfolio value a month, max €40, all tiers, rebated next month as trading credit valid one month.
  • Inactivity: €0 in France; none listed in Belgium.
  • Securities transfer out: France €50 per line, Netherlands €25 per line, Belgium €75 per line.
Stock lending at Saxo is income, not a fee waiver. Any Saxo Bank A/S client can opt in. Saxo splits lending revenue 50/50, paid monthly; no lending or revenue is guaranteed, and the half Saxo keeps is reported as a cost in your cost reports. None of Saxo’s French, Dutch or Belgian branches charges a custody fee for it to offset.
Cash interest. IBKR pays nothing on the first €10,000 of EUR cash. Above that, the full rate applies only to accounts worth USD 100,000 or more; smaller accounts get a proportional share. IBKR’s own examples, at rates as of 2 July 2026: an account worth €20,000 with €5,000 cash earns 0.000%; €80,000 with €20,000 cash earns 0.778%; €320,000 with €80,000 cash earns 1.454%. At Saxo, cash interest is a top-tier product: France VIP only (not on PEA accounts); Netherlands 0% up to €100,000 on every tier and Gold only above it; Belgium Gold only, nothing on the first €20,000. Rates move; check IBKR’s pricing and Saxo’s pricing before relying on them.

Platforms, apps and research

Interactive Brokers
  • IBKR Desktop: IBKR’s newest desktop platform, built as a streamlined alternative to TWS.
  • Trader Workstation (TWS): the professional platform.
  • Client Portal: browser-based trading and account management.
  • IBKR Mobile and IBKR GlobalTrader, a simplified mobile app.
  • Research and education: Fundamentals Explorer, Traders’ Academy.
Saxo Bank
  • SaxoTrader: web, mobile and desktop; the full product range including margin and leveraged products; multi-screen desktop layouts.
  • SaxoInvestor: web and mobile; stocks, bonds, funds and ETFs. Every account gets both platforms under one login.
  • TradingView: connect a funded Saxo account to TradingView and trade stocks, single-stock CFDs, forex and futures from TradingView’s platform at Saxo’s normal costs. Options are not supported.
  • Research: Saxo’s in-house strategy team, SaxoStrats. 20-day demo account.

Tax handling: Saxo’s local branches do more

Saxo’s branches act locally in Belgium, the Netherlands and France. IBKR Ireland provides reports and offers tax-wrapper accounts in some countries.

Saxo Bank
  • Belgium: stock exchange tax (beurstaks) and withholding tax (roerende voorheffing) settled automatically, free.
  • Netherlands: exchange tax and withholding settled automatically, free.
  • France: IFU annual tax statement issued free; PEA and PEA-PME accounts available.
  • Reduced US, Canadian and French withholding service free in NL and BE; tax vouchers €135 for Germany, €35 elsewhere.
Interactive Brokers
  • Annual tax statement generated in Client Portal.
  • Tax voucher requests through Client Portal.
  • Tax-wrapper accounts: PEA for French tax residents, ISK for Swedish tax residents, TBSZ for Hungarian tax residents.

Source: Saxo Tarifs 2026 (FR) and Tarieven Zelf Beleggen (NL, BE); Interactive Brokers Ireland account-type pages. Verified September 2026. Tax rules are set by each country; confirm your own position.


Opening an account

Interactive Brokers
  • Personal details, tax residency and tax ID, employer, assets and income, source of wealth and source of funds, investment objectives and experience.
  • Proof of identity: passport, national ID card or driver’s licence.
  • Proof of address less than six months old, such as a bank statement or government letter.
  • IBKR asks for scanned documents; phone photos can delay approval.
Saxo Bank
  • Minimum age 18; your country of residence must be on Saxo’s list.
  • National ID number, proof of identity and a selfie taken with a phone; tax ID and proof of residence in some countries.
  • Most sign-ups are approved digitally within minutes, and within 2 working days if documents meet the requirements.
  • No minimum funding in most countries.

Safety: a bank against an investment firm

The structural difference is the licence. Saxo is a bank, so cash has a deposit guarantee. IBKR Ireland is an investment firm, so it doesn’t; its safety net is an investor compensation scheme instead.

Interactive Brokers
  • EU clients served by Interactive Brokers Ireland Limited, regulated by the Central Bank of Ireland.
  • Not a bank: no deposit guarantee on cash.
  • Irish Investor Compensation Scheme: 90% of the loss, up to €20,000, for private individuals, if the firm fails. It does not cover market losses.
  • Client money segregated for the benefit of IBIE clients and held in pooled accounts at banks inside and outside the EEA. IBIE holds some client securities through its US affiliate, Interactive Brokers LLC.
  • Group equity capital USD 22.3 billion at the end of Q2 2026; owned 73.5% by employees and affiliates and 26.5% by the listed company; S&P 500 member.
Saxo Bank
  • Saxo Bank A/S, a Danish bank licensed by the Danish FSA; the French, Dutch and Belgian offices are branches of it. The French branch is also supervised by the ACPR and AMF.
  • Classified a Systemically Important Financial Institution (SIFI) in Denmark in June 2023, which brings stricter capital requirements.
  • Danish deposit guarantee: €100,000 per depositor, cash only; investments are not covered. Payout within 7 business days, handled locally through the FGDR in France and De Nederlandsche Bank in the Netherlands.
  • Majority owned (about 71%) by J. Safra Sarasin Group since March 2026; founder Kim Fournais holds about 28%.
Neither scheme protects you against falling markets. For how deposit guarantees and investor compensation differ across Europe, see Investor Protection in Europe.

Who should pick which?

Choose IBKR if…
  • You invest in larger lumps: above about €4,690 per Euronext order and €3,750 per Xetra order, IBKR is cheaper than Saxo’s entry tier.
  • You buy US shares or other foreign-currency assets: 0.03% conversion against 0.25%.
  • You want Tiered pricing on Xetra, about €2.40 all-in on a small order, and you don’t live in Spain, the Czech Republic, Romania or Slovenia.
  • You want fractional shares on European markets.
  • You live in a country where Saxo has no local branch pricing.
Choose Saxo if…
  • You buy EUR ETFs on Euronext monthly in small amounts: €24 a year against €45 at €500 a month.
  • You live in France and your ETF is on the 20-fund plan list, or in the Netherlands and want €0 AutoInvest purchases.
  • You hold €200,000 or more and trade Euronext ETFs: Saxo is cheaper at every order size at that tier.
  • You want cash held at a bank with a €100,000 deposit guarantee.
  • You live in Belgium or the Netherlands and want exchange tax and withholding settled for you.
The honest bottom line

For a French, Dutch or Belgian investor buying EUR ETFs in monthly amounts, Saxo is the cheaper broker on commissions, and in France and the Netherlands it can take commissions to zero through its savings plans. The Dutch service fee and Belgium’s €2 a month are the costs to count against that.

IBKR takes over once orders grow past a few thousand euros, and it wins every time a currency conversion is involved. If you buy US shares or USD-denominated assets regularly, that 0.25% against 0.03% gap outweighs the commission differences.


Check the current terms before you open an account

Fees, rates and plan eligibility change and differ by country. Confirm the figures for your country of residence on each broker’s own pricing pages before opening or funding an account. Investing involves risk of loss.



Frequently asked questions

Is Interactive Brokers cheaper than Saxo Bank?

It depends on order size, exchange and currency. For a small EUR ETF order on Euronext, Saxo’s entry tier is cheaper: 0.08% with a €2 minimum against IBKR Fixed at €3 plus a €0.75 ETF exchange fee, so €2.00 vs €3.75 on a €500 order. On Xetra both charge €3 on a small order. Above about €4,690 per order on Euronext and €3,750 on Xetra, IBKR’s 0.05% is cheaper. Any currency conversion strongly favours IBKR: 0.03% on automatic conversion against Saxo’s 0.25%.

Does Saxo Bank charge a custody fee?

Not in France, the Netherlands or Belgium. France charges €0 custody except on unlisted securities held in a PEA. The Netherlands and Belgium charge no custody fee, but Dutch clients pay a service fee of 0.01% of portfolio value per month, capped at €40, rebated the following month as trading credit valid for one month. Stock lending is an optional income programme, not a fee waiver: Saxo splits lending revenue 50/50 and no revenue is guaranteed.

Does Saxo Bank offer savings plans in Europe?

Yes, and each country is priced differently. France has the Plan Épargne Programmé Saxo: €0 per purchase on 20 eligible ETFs, executed on the 5th of the month, not available inside a PEA. The Netherlands has AutoInvest at €0 per purchase on a selection of funds and ETFs, executed on the 4th or 28th, with the 0.01% monthly service fee still applying. Belgium has AutoInvest at €2 per month per plan, charged even in months with no purchase, on about 80 ETFs in whole units.

How do IBKR and Saxo compare on currency conversion?

IBKR has two routes: automatic conversion at 0.03% of trade value, or a manual spot FX order from 0.002% with a USD 2.00 minimum per order. Automatic is cheaper below about USD 6,667 per conversion. Saxo charges 0.25% at every tier. Converting €10,000 costs €3.00 at IBKR on automatic conversion and €25.00 at Saxo. Buying a USD asset with €500 a month for ten years costs about €18 at IBKR and €150 at Saxo in conversion alone.

What are Saxo Bank’s account tiers?

They differ by country. France uses Classic, Platinum (€200,000 initial deposit or 120,000 points) and VIP (€850,000 initial deposit or 500,000 points). The Netherlands and Belgium use Bronze, Silver (from €200,000) and Gold (from €1,000,000), measured on total assets. Higher tiers cut ETF commissions from 0.08% to 0.05% and 0.03% on Euronext and Xetra. The 0.25% FX rate does not change with tier.

Can I set up recurring ETF purchases at IBKR?

IBKR’s Recurring Investments feature invests a set amount daily, weekly or monthly in available US, Canadian and European shares, using fractional shares. IBKR Ireland does not state whether UCITS ETFs qualify. Normal commissions apply: budget €3.00 per purchase on Fixed, plus €0.75 on Euronext ETFs, with €1.25 as the fractional minimum. There is no zero-commission ETF savings plan at IBKR for EU clients.

Is Saxo Bank or IBKR safer?

They are protected differently. Saxo Bank A/S is a Danish bank, so cash is covered by the Danish deposit guarantee up to €100,000 per depositor; investments are not covered by that scheme. IBKR Ireland is an investment firm, not a bank, so cash has no deposit guarantee; the Irish Investor Compensation Scheme covers 90% of a loss up to €20,000 for private individuals if the firm fails, not market losses.

Does Saxo Bank handle taxes for EU investors?

Partly, and it depends on the country. In Belgium, Saxo settles the stock exchange tax and withholding tax automatically at no charge. In the Netherlands, it settles exchange tax and withholding automatically. In France, it issues the IFU annual tax statement. IBKR provides an annual tax statement through Client Portal and offers PEA accounts for French tax residents, ISK accounts for Swedish tax residents and TBSZ accounts for Hungarian tax residents.

Can EU retail investors buy US-listed ETFs at IBKR or Saxo?

Generally not. Under the EU PRIIPs rules, retail investors can only be offered funds that publish a Key Information Document, and US-listed ETFs do not produce one. EU investors at both brokers build portfolios from UCITS ETFs, which track the same indices in an EU-compliant structure.


Get the free toolkit sample

A working broker cost calculator — IBKR vs DEGIRO vs Trading 212, with verified September 2026 fees. You’ll also get 4 short emails on cutting your investing costs. Unsubscribe anytime.

Some of the links on this site are affiliate links, meaning we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you if you sign up through them. This does not affect our reviews or recommendations — we only feature products we genuinely believe are useful for investors. This site provides educational content only, not personalized investment advice. Investments can lose value and past performance does not guarantee future results. You are responsible for your own financial decisions and for confirming the tax and legal rules that apply in your country.