Best Broker for Spanish Investors (2026): Trade Republic, XTB, Trading 212, Lightyear, IBKR & Scalable Capital
For a Spanish resident the decisive question is not the commission. It is which accounts land in Modelo 720, and who reports your income to the AEAT. This guide ranks six international brokers on that axis. One of them now has a binding tax ruling behind it, and the ruling covers less than some Spanish coverage suggests.
Some of the links on this site are affiliate links, meaning we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you if you sign up through them. This does not affect our reviews or recommendations — we only feature products we genuinely believe are useful for investors. This site provides educational content only, not personalized investment advice. Investments can lose value and past performance does not guarantee future results. You are responsible for your own financial decisions and for confirming the tax and legal rules that apply in your country.
The ranking, on Modelo 720 exposure and AEAT reporting
- Trade Republic — Spanish branch with a Spanish IBAN. A binding ruling takes the migrated cash account out of the Modelo 720 accounts block; the securities account is not addressed.
- XTB — Spanish branch, 0% commission on stocks and ETFs up to EUR 100,000 a month, and a ready-made 31 December PDF for Modelo 720. Your foreign ETFs and cash still count.
- Trading 212 — German entity, EUR 0 commission, 0.15% FX. No Spanish establishment: full Modelo 720 exposure, you handle your own tax.
- Lightyear — Estonian entity, EUR 0 ETF execution, 0.35% FX. Full exposure; uninvested EUR earns nothing.
- Interactive Brokers — Irish entity, Fixed pricing only in Spain, the cheapest FX route and the most detailed statements for a gestor. Full exposure.
- Scalable Capital — German bank serving Spain cross-border with no branch and no Spanish IBAN. Full exposure.
Modelo 720, and who reports your income to the AEAT
Two separate questions decide the admin load of any broker: does the account count as an asset abroad, and does anyone report or withhold for you.
Modelo 720 is split into three separate blocks: accounts, securities and real estate. The obligation arises when the assets held abroad in one block exceed EUR 50,000. For the accounts block the test is either the balance at 31 December or the average balance of the last quarter. The blocks are tested separately, so EUR 40,000 of foreign cash and EUR 40,000 of foreign ETFs triggers nothing.
After the first filing you file again only if a block rises by more than EUR 20,000 against the last declaration, or when a declared asset is cancelled. The filing window runs from 1 January to 31 March for the previous year.
A Spanish-established bank or broker reports your accounts and income to the AEAT itself. A foreign entity serving Spain from abroad generally does not, which leaves you to enter capital gains, dividends and interest in your IRPF return and to test each block for Modelo 720.
Of the six brokers ranked here, only Trade Republic states that IRPF withholding and reporting obligations apply — and only to clients migrated to its Spanish branch. Its contract does not say which income types are withheld, so neither do we. Trading 212 states that clients outside Germany handle their own tax. XTB, Lightyear, IBKR and Scalable Capital publish no AEAT reporting or withholding role for Spain. Having a Spanish branch is not the same as moving assets onshore: XTB’s branch still custodies foreign ETFs abroad.
- 19% up to EUR 6,000
- 21% from EUR 6,000 to EUR 50,000
- 23% from EUR 50,000 to EUR 200,000
- 27% from EUR 200,000 to EUR 300,000
- 30% above EUR 300,000
Source: AEAT, Ley 7/2024. Applies to capital gains, dividends and interest.
What DGT ruling V2475-25 actually covers — and what it does not
Some Spanish coverage has summarised this ruling as freeing Trade Republic clients from Modelo 720. The ruling is narrower than that.
Binding consultation V2475-25 of 12 December 2025 concerns a Spanish resident with a German credit institution, holding a securities account and a cash account. In June 2025 the cash account migrated to a Spanish IBAN at the institution’s Spanish branch. The ruling does not name the bank, but the contract it quotes is Trade Republic’s Spanish Customer Agreement.
- From migration the cash account deberá entenderse situada en España — it is treated as situated in Spain.
- It therefore falls outside the Modelo 720 accounts block, whatever the balance.
- The branch reports the account itself under article 37 RGAT.
- The conclusion is conditional on the quoted contract clauses applying.
- The securities account. The branch’s declared activities include custody, and the contract assigns custody to the branch where applicable, but the ruling draws no conclusion on securities.
- Modelo 721, a separate return, is not addressed.
- Clients still on a German IBAN are outside the ruling’s facts and keep full Modelo 720 exposure.
Trade Republic — the only one with a ruling on Modelo 720
Trade Republic Bank GmbH, Sucursal en España, Velázquez 50, Planta 5, Madrid, supervised by the Banco de España and the CNMV. First on this page because it is the only ranked broker that moves part of your reporting onshore.
- Under its Spanish Customer Agreement (Appendix 11), the branch carries out custody for customers with a Custody Account at the Branch Spain, deposit-taking on a Spanish IBAN, and fund orders under the traspasos regime.
- Migration brings a Spanish IBAN, where applicable a new custody account number, and the application of IRPF withholding and reporting obligations.
- Migrated cash account outside the Modelo 720 accounts block per DGT V2475-25.
- Order commission EUR 0; savings plans EUR 0 per execution, from EUR 10 to EUR 10,000 per execution.
- Outgoing portfolio transfer: no Trade Republic fee (third-party costs may apply).
- The securities account is not covered by V2475-25.
- Withholding scope by income type is not stated in the contract.
- Non-migrated clients (for example, no NIF provided) stay outside the branch arrangements and keep full Modelo 720 exposure.
- A EUR 1 settlement flat rate applies per manual trade. It is not a commission and does not apply to savings plans.
- FX margins are published as absolute amounts per currency on foreign-currency income such as dividends. Whether they apply to non-EUR purchases is not stated.
XTB — cheapest to run, with the Modelo 720 paperwork done for you
XTB S.A., Sucursal en España, CNMV no. 40, NIF W0601162A, C/ Pedro Teixeira 8, 6ª planta, 28020 Madrid. Real stocks and ETFs, not only CFDs.
- 0% commission on stocks and ETFs up to EUR 100,000 of monthly investment volume; 0.2% (minimum EUR 10) above that.
- Investment Plans with recurring contributions from EUR 15.
- By default XTB supplies a 31 December PDF with the Modelo 720 data: name, units, ISIN, country of deposit, currency and value.
- Spanish securities are custodied in Spain.
- The branch does not take UCITS ETFs or cash out of Modelo 720 scope: non-Spanish securities are custodied abroad, and uninvested cash has been deposited in Germany since late 2024.
- 0.5% currency conversion on non-EUR instruments.
- Inactivity fee of EUR 10 a month, charged only when no position has been opened or closed for 365 days and no deposit made for 90 days.
- CFDs share the platform; they are leveraged derivatives, not ownership of a fund.
Trading 212 — zero commission, you do the tax
Spanish residents are served by Trading 212 EU GmbH, a German entity supervised by BaFin, formerly FXFlat Bank GmbH. No Spanish branch: full Modelo 720 exposure.
- EUR 0 trading commission and EUR 0 custody fee.
- 0.15% FX at the live interbank rate, with no minimum charge and never more than 0.15%.
- Custodians: Interactive Brokers and BNY Mellon.
- Cash deposits protected up to EUR 100,000 per person per partner bank.
- Outgoing portfolio transfers carry no Trading 212 fee.
- Its German tax withholding covers German tax residents only; Spanish clients handle their own tax.
- Foreign entity and foreign custody: every block counts for Modelo 720.
- Pies convert at 0.15%, including dividend reinvestments.
- Transfers out are whole shares only; fractional shares must be sold and withdrawn as cash.
Lightyear — free ETF execution, published FX, no lending
Lightyear Europe AS, an Estonian investment firm regulated by the Finantsinspektsioon. No Spanish establishment: full Modelo 720 exposure.
- EUR 0 ETF execution.
- 0.35% FX, applied on top of the live interbank rate, one rate for every conversion.
- No securities lending: Lightyear does not lend client money or investments.
- Investor protection through the Estonian Investor Protection Sectoral Fund, up to EUR 20,000 in total across all balances. Crypto assets are excluded, and uninvested money is not covered by the deposit guarantee fund.
- Savings (money market funds) for Spanish residents are managed by BlackRock. They are investments, not deposits.
- Uninvested EUR earns nothing; cash interest is offered in the UK and Hungary only.
- Fractional positions cannot be transferred out.
- Auto-invest works only on fractional instruments.
- Tax withholding is stated for Estonian customers only; none for Spain.
Interactive Brokers — cheapest FX, best statements, all the admin is yours
Spanish residents are served by Interactive Brokers Ireland. No Spanish establishment: full Modelo 720 exposure. Its case in Spain is cost at scale and the quality of what you hand your gestor.
- FX: automatic conversion at 3 basis points (0.03%), or a manual spot FX order from 0.20 basis points (0.002%) with a USD 2.00 minimum per order.
- The most detailed statements of the six for a gestor preparing IRPF and Modelo 720.
- Investor compensation under the Irish scheme: 90% of the amount lost, up to EUR 20,000 per investor, for private individuals. It covers the firm’s failure, not market losses.
- Spain is on Fixed pricing only; there is no Tiered option in Spain. Spanish shares and ETFs cost 0.05% of trade value, minimum EUR 3.00, with SmartRouting (0.10%, minimum EUR 4.00, direct).
- No AEAT reporting or withholding role is published for Spain.
- The most complex platform of the six.
Scalable Capital — free savings plans, cross-border only
One entity, Scalable Capital Bank GmbH in Munich, serving Spain cross-border under the freedom to provide services, with the CNMV notified. No Spanish branch and no Spanish IBAN: full Modelo 720 exposure.
- Savings plans at EUR 0 per execution, from EUR 1.
- Single orders at a flat EUR 1.99 on Xetra and gettex on both the FREE and PRIME+ plans, per Scalable’s September 2026 price page.
- Cash protected by the statutory deposit guarantee of EUR 100,000 per bank.
- A currency markup exists, but its size is not published.
- The client documents list the European Investor Exchange (EIX), our reference venue for Scalable, but the September 2026 price page no longer prices it, so no EIX price is quoted here.
- Scalable Wealth (managed portfolios) is not yet available in Spain.
- No AEAT reporting or withholding role is published for Spain.
eToro, Mintos and Saxo — why they are not ranked
eToro serves Spanish residents from Cyprus through eToro (Europe) Ltd, with the EUR currency account run by a separate payments entity, eToro Money Malta. Nothing in that structure moves an account onshore, so it adds nothing on this page’s axis and is not ranked.
Mintos accepts card deposits from Spanish-issued cards, but Spain gets a generic tax report template rather than a Spanish one. Positions can only be sold through Mintos to other platform users and cannot be transferred to another broker, so an ETF bought there stays there until you sell it.
Saxo serves Spain only cross-border, with no Spanish site or Spanish fee schedule we could source, so it is not ranked.
Spanish-established banks and brokers
MyInvestor, Openbank, Renta 4, Bankinter Broker, BBVA Trader, SelfBank, Andbank and ActivoBank are Spanish-established entities. They report to the AEAT themselves — the same mechanism V2475-25 applies to Trade Republic’s Spanish branch — which removes most of the self-declaration work this page is about.
We hold no verified fee data for any of them, so they carry no figures here and are not ranked. If the tax admin matters more to you than the lowest cost, compare their pricing on their own sites.
All six brokers compared
| Broker | Spanish establishment | Modelo 720 exposure | AEAT reporting / IRPF withholding | Commission on ETFs | FX | Protection |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Trade Republic | Branch, Madrid (Banco de España, CNMV) | Migrated cash account outside the accounts block (V2475-25); securities account not addressed | Applies after migration; scope by income type not published | EUR 0 commission; EUR 1 settlement flat rate per trade; savings plans EUR 0 | Margins on foreign-currency income; purchases not published | Statutory EU scheme stated; figure not published |
| XTB | Branch, Madrid (CNMV no. 40) | Foreign-custodied ETFs and German-deposited cash count; 31 Dec PDF supplied | Not published | 0% to EUR 100,000/month; 0.2% (min EUR 10) above | 0.5% | Not published |
| Trading 212 | None (German entity, BaFin) | Full | No; clients outside Germany handle their own tax | EUR 0 | 0.15%, no minimum | Cash up to EUR 100,000 per partner bank |
| Lightyear | None (Estonian entity) | Full | No; withholding stated for Estonia only | EUR 0 | 0.35% | Estonian investor fund, up to EUR 20,000 |
| IBKR | None (Irish entity) | Full | Not published | Fixed only, no Tiered in Spain: 0.05%, min EUR 3.00 | Auto 0.03%; spot order from 0.002%, min USD 2.00 | 90% of loss, up to EUR 20,000 |
| Scalable Capital | None (cross-border, CNMV notified) | Full | Not published | Savings plans EUR 0; orders EUR 1.99 | Markup exists; size not published | Cash up to EUR 100,000 per bank |
Sources: DGT V2475-25; Trade Republic Customer Agreement CA_ES 07.05.02 (6/2026) Appendix 11 and price list v11.2025; es.xtb.com (Modelo 720 page and Investment Plans page); Trading 212, Lightyear, Interactive Brokers and Scalable Capital official terms and price pages; AEAT. Spanish-branch facts read 21 September 2026. “Not published” means the broker states nothing we could source, not that the answer is no. Verify on each broker’s official site before opening an account.
How to choose
Among international brokers, Trade Republic after migration to the Spanish branch is the only one that states IRPF withholding and reporting apply. For full onshore reporting, look at the Spanish-established alternative.
XTB: 0% commission up to EUR 100,000 a month and a default 31 December PDF carrying the Modelo 720 data.
IBKR’s FX routes are the cheapest here, and its statements are the most detailed for a gestor. Budget for full Modelo 720 and IRPF work yourself.
Trading 212, Lightyear or Scalable Capital. All three leave you with full Modelo 720 exposure once a block passes EUR 50,000.
Ready to open an account?
All six brokers accept Spanish residents. Decide first who you want reporting to the AEAT, then pick on cost.
Go deeper
Frequently asked questions
When do I have to file Modelo 720?
Modelo 720 has three separate blocks: accounts, securities and real estate. The obligation arises when the assets held abroad in one block exceed EUR 50,000. For accounts, the test is the balance at 31 December or the average balance of the last quarter. After a first filing, you file again only if the value of a block rises by more than EUR 20,000 against the last declaration, or when a declared asset is cancelled. The filing window runs from 1 January to 31 March for the previous year.
Does moving to Trade Republic’s Spanish IBAN remove Modelo 720?
For the cash account, yes. Binding ruling DGT V2475-25 of 12 December 2025 holds that once a Spanish resident’s cash account migrated to a Spanish IBAN at the Spanish branch, the account is treated as situated in Spain and falls outside the Modelo 720 accounts block regardless of balance, with the branch reporting it itself. The conclusion is conditional on the quoted contract clauses applying. The ruling does not address the securities account and does not address Modelo 721. Clients who have not migrated keep full Modelo 720 exposure.
Does XTB’s Spanish branch take my ETFs out of Modelo 720?
No. XTB uses local custodians, so Spanish securities are custodied in Spain and other securities abroad, and uninvested cash has been deposited in Germany since late 2024. Foreign-custodied ETFs and that cash stay inside Modelo 720 scope. XTB provides by default a 31 December PDF with the data the form needs: name, units, ISIN, country of deposit, currency and value.
Which of these brokers report to the AEAT?
Of the six ranked brokers, only Trade Republic states that IRPF withholding and reporting obligations apply, and only to clients migrated to its Spanish branch; the contract does not state the scope by income type. Trading 212 states that clients outside Germany handle their own tax. XTB, Lightyear, IBKR and Scalable Capital publish no AEAT reporting or withholding role for Spain. Spanish-established banks and brokers report to the AEAT themselves.
Which Trading 212 entity serves Spain?
Trading 212 EU GmbH, a German entity supervised by BaFin and formerly FXFlat Bank GmbH. Its custodians are Interactive Brokers and BNY Mellon, and cash deposits are protected up to EUR 100,000 per person per partner bank. Its automatic German tax withholding applies to German tax residents only, not to Spanish clients.
What does IBKR charge in Spain?
Spain is on Fixed pricing only; there is no Tiered option in Spain. Spanish shares and ETFs cost 0.05% of trade value, minimum EUR 3.00, with SmartRouting, or 0.10%, minimum EUR 4.00, with direct routing. Currency conversion costs 3 basis points on automatic conversion, or from 0.20 basis points (0.002%) with a USD 2.00 minimum per order if you place a manual spot FX order.
What are the savings-income tax rates in 2026?
Since 1 January 2025 (Ley 7/2024) the savings-income scale is 19% up to EUR 6,000, 21% from EUR 6,000 to EUR 50,000, 23% from EUR 50,000 to EUR 200,000, 27% from EUR 200,000 to EUR 300,000 and 30% above EUR 300,000. Capital gains, dividends and interest are taxed on this scale.
Can Spanish investors buy US ETFs like VTI or SPY?
Generally not as retail clients. The PRIIPs Regulation, Regulation (EU) 1286/2014, requires a Key Information Document for packaged products sold to EU retail investors, and most US-domiciled ETFs do not publish one, so EU brokers block them. UCITS ETFs tracking the same indexes are the practical equivalent.
Are accumulating UCITS ETFs more tax-efficient in Spain?
Generally yes, because they defer tax. A distributing ETF’s payouts are taxed as savings income in the year they are paid, even if you reinvest them. An accumulating ETF reinvests inside the fund, so tax falls due only when you sell. Both are taxed on the same savings-income scale.
Should I use a Spanish-established broker instead?
If the Modelo 720 filing and self-declaration are what you want to avoid, consider it. Spanish-established entities such as MyInvestor, Openbank, Renta 4, Bankinter Broker, BBVA Trader, SelfBank, Andbank and ActivoBank report to the AEAT themselves, the same mechanism V2475-25 applies to Trade Republic’s branch. We hold no verified fee data for them, so compare their pricing on their own sites before deciding.
QuantRoutine provides educational content only. Nothing on this page is an offer, solicitation, or recommendation to buy or sell any security or to open an account with any specific broker. Investments can lose value, and past performance does not guarantee future results. Tax rules — including Modelo 720 thresholds, savings-income tax rates and IRPF reporting obligations — can change and vary by individual circumstances. Verify each broker’s current fees, eligibility criteria, and regulatory status on their official website before opening or funding an account.