Best Broker for Dutch investors

Best Broker Guide · Netherlands · 2026

Best Broker for Dutch Investors (2026)

Updated September 2026 · Written by Francesco Cipolli · Seven brokers ranked on cost and custody structure

There is no tax advantage to win here. Box 3 taxes the value of your portfolio on 1 January, not your gains, and no broker serving Dutch residents withholds Dutch capital gains tax or pre-fills your aangifte. That removes the axis most country guides rank on. What is left is the one that actually differs: what you pay to trade and convert currency, and how your assets and cash are held. Seven brokers are ranked below on exactly that.

Best broker for Dutch investors hero banner showing the Netherlands flag and a comparison of top broker options for Dutch residents, with three smartphone screens representing different platforms, stacks of euro coins, and key labels for low fees, broad investment selection, and beginner-friendly features on a map background.

Some of the links on this site are affiliate links, meaning we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you if you sign up through them. This does not affect our reviews or recommendations — we only feature products we genuinely believe are useful for investors. This site provides educational content only, not personalized investment advice. Investments can lose value and past performance does not guarantee future results. You are responsible for your own financial decisions and for confirming the tax and legal rules that apply in your country.


The seven ranked, at a glance

Ranked on what a Dutch resident actually pays and how their assets are held. Every figure below is taken from the broker’s own published pricing for the entity that serves the Netherlands, which is not always the entity the brand advertises.

Broker Entity serving NL ETF cost per trade FX conversion Best for
🥇 Trading 212 Trading 212 EU GmbH (BaFin) €0 0.15% Lowest all-in cost on EUR-denominated ETFs
🥈 Interactive Brokers Interactive Brokers Ireland (CBI) Fixed €3.00 min, +€0.75 on Euronext ETFs 3 bps auto, or 0.20 bps + USD 2.00 min Large portfolios and multi-currency
🥉 DEGIRO flatexDEGIRO Bank Dutch Branch (BaFin) €1 Core Selection · €3.00 other 0.25% AutoFX Simple manual buying on a Dutch-branch entity
Lightyear Lightyear Europe AS (Estonian FSA) €0 0.35% Multi-currency with no securities lending
Saxo Saxo Bank A/S, Dutch branch 0.08% Bronze, min €2 / max €150 0.25% Banking licence and a per-trade cost cap
Trade Republic Trade Republic Bank GmbH (BaFin) €1.00 settlement flat rate · plans exempt Absolute margin per unit, scope limited Hands-off savings plans
Scalable Capital Scalable Capital (cross-border, AFM notified) €1.99 flat, both plans Markup exists, size unpublished Savings plans from €1
Bottom line: Trading 212 is the cheapest confirmed route for a Dutch investor buying EUR-denominated UCITS ETFs, with one real drawback — the Netherlands is missing from its instant-funding country list. IBKR wins at size, where its FX pricing outruns its per-trade minimum. DEGIRO is the only broker here operating through a Dutch branch, at €1 per trade on everything listed on Tradegate. The Netherlands levies no transaction tax, unlike Belgium’s TOB, so nothing is taken by the state at the point of trade.

Why your broker choice barely moves your Dutch tax bill

In Italy or Germany the broker can act as a tax agent and settle your liability for you. In the Netherlands there is no such role to compete on. Box 3 is levied on the value of what you hold on 1 January, and it is your job to report it.

📦
Box 3, 2026 and 2027
  • 2026: heffingsvrij vermogen €59,357 per person, €118,714 for fiscal partners · deemed return on beleggingen 6.00% · rate 36%
  • 2027: heffingsvrij vermogen €60,098 per person, €120,196 for fiscal partners · deemed return on beleggingen definitively fixed at 6.37% · rate stays 36%
  • The beleggingen forfait is set this far ahead because it is derived from returns two years back.
  • Worked example, 2026: a €100,000 portfolio produces a €6,000 deemed return, taxed at 36% — €2,160.
  • Peildatum: 1 January. That day’s value counts for the whole year.
⚖️
The 2028 reform did not move on Prinsjesdag

The Wet werkelijk rendement box 3 passed the Tweede Kamer on 12 February 2026. The Eerste Kamer held its vote on 30 June 2026 pending a novelle from the cabinet. That novelle did not arrive. No box 3 measure was proposed on 15 September 2026 and no novelle was submitted; the cabinet states in the Belastingplan 2027 cover letter that it has no proposal capable of broad parliamentary support.

A joint box 3 Kamerbrief of 13 September 2026 asks the Eerste Kamer to hold treatment; the cabinet will return with proposals at the next budgetary moment, spring 2027. Entry into force on 1 January 2028 would require the Eerste Kamer to pass the bill by 31 December 2026. It is not law, and materially less likely for 2028 than it was in June.

🧾
No broker pre-fills your aangifte

None of the seven brokers here reports your Box 3 values into the vooringevulde aangifte. DEGIRO’s own Dutch helpdesk says so in as many words: the Belastingdienst does not carry its financial data into the pre-filled income tax return, and you must complete that part of the return yourself. Every broker on this page issues an annual statement, and every one of them leaves you to type the 1 January figure in. Treat any page claiming otherwise as out of date.

🇪🇺
UCITS only, and no transaction tax

PRIIPs blocks EU retail investors from buying US-domiciled ETFs, so you buy UCITS versions listed on Euronext Amsterdam, XETRA or the LSE. The tegenbewijsregeling stays in force for both 2026 and 2027: if your actual return was below the deemed return, you can file on the real figure, which means keeping your broker statements. And the Netherlands has no transaction tax, unlike Belgium’s TOB — the state takes nothing at the point of trade.

Deeper on the mechanics: Box 3 and investing in the Netherlands.

Trading 212 — cheapest on the numbers, with one Dutch-specific gap

Zero commission, zero custody fee and the lowest published conversion rate of any neobroker here. The catch is not in the pricing — it is in how you get money in.

What it costs
  • No commission on ETF and stock trades in the Invest account. No custody fee. Bank transfer deposits, withdrawals, statements and account closure are all priced at zero.
  • FX 0.15%, applied to the live interbank rate, and stated as never more than 0.15% including at weekends. A round trip into and back out of a foreign-currency instrument is therefore 0.30% — that is arithmetic on the published rate, not a second fee.
  • FX does not apply to dividends or other corporate-action proceeds. Pie cash conversions do cost 0.15%, and that includes dividend reinvestments inside a pie.
  • Fractional shares, and AutoInvest pies for scheduled contributions.
  • Dutch clients are served by Trading 212 EU GmbH, BaFin ID 10109603, formerly FXFlat Bank GmbH, Bahnstraße 47, 40878 Ratingen. Custodians are Interactive Brokers and BNY Mellon. Deposit protection is the Entschädigungseinrichtung deutscher Banken at €100,000 per person per partner bank.
The Dutch funding gap, and the interest condition
  • The Netherlands is absent from the Instant Bank Transfer country list under any Trading 212 entity, and iDEAL is not among the payment logos on the Dutch footer. Plain bank transfer is the only confirmed fee-free funding route for a Dutch client. Trading 212 never publishes method-level fee scope, so the fee treatment of iDEAL is permanently not stated — it cannot be inferred from the fact that its payment processor handles iDEAL for other merchants.
  • Interest on uninvested cash is opt-in and requires express consent to cash being held in qualifying money market funds. If you do not enable it, your cash sits in banks, you are paid nothing, and the firm keeps all the interest it receives. QMMF holdings are client assets rather than client money and are not deposit-guaranteed. We publish no rate here: the EUR rate differs across the entities that quote it, and AER, p.a. and APY are three different conventions.
  • The free ATM allowance on the card is €400 and it is not converted, so a Dutch cardholder’s €400 is the smaller of the two currency allowances. The spending limits beneath it are converted.
  • The CFD product sits in the same app. Use Invest only.
  • No share-lending block appears on the Dutch Invest price tab, so the UK and Cypriot lending offer should not be assumed here.
Who this fits: the Dutch investor buying EUR-denominated UCITS ETFs on a schedule, who is content to fund by SEPA transfer rather than iDEAL. On cost alone nothing here beats it. See the full Trading 212 review.

Interactive Brokers — the FX story is real, but not at the number everyone quotes

IBKR is the platform Dutch investors move to when portfolio size makes conversion costs matter more than per-trade commission. It is also the broker most often described wrongly, in two specific ways.

Dutch pricing and the two FX routes
  • EUR-denominated Netherlands account: Tiered from €1.25, capped at €29.00 · Fixed SmartRouted 0.05% with a €3.00 minimum · Fixed Direct Routed 0.10% with a €4.00 minimum.
  • USD-denominated Netherlands account: Tiered from USD 1.70 · Fixed SmartRouted 0.05% with a USD 4.00 minimum.
  • Two separate FX mechanisms, at two separate prices. Auto-conversion runs at 3 basis points, which is 0.03%. A manual IdealPro spot FX order starts at 0.20 basis points but carries a minimum of USD 2.00 per order. At retail conversion sizes that floor governs, and the headline rate only bites above roughly USD 100,000 per conversion. Anyone quoting a bare two-thousandths of a percent has collapsed the two routes into one.
  • Fractional trading is offered in the Netherlands, and the Fixed fractional minimum of €1.25 genuinely undercuts the €3.00 whole-share minimum — a fractional order is cheaper than a whole-share order of the same value.
  • No custody fee and no inactivity fee.
Entity, protection and what to be realistic about
  • Your counterparty is Interactive Brokers Ireland Limited (IBIE), authorised by the Central Bank of Ireland. IBKR is not supervised by the Dutch central bank for this purpose, and pages saying otherwise are wrong.
  • Protection is the Irish Investor Compensation Scheme, in its own words: compensation is limited to 90% of the amount lost, subject to a maximum of €20,000 to each investor, and it protects against the failure of the firm rather than loss of market value. It is intended for private individuals and does not cover institutions or professional clients. It is not a deposit guarantee and should never be set against a bank’s €100,000 figure — the 90% and the €20,000 travel together.
  • Cash interest works on a proportional rule: accounts with a net asset value of USD 100,000 or more are paid the full rate, and accounts below that are paid at a rate proportional to size — a USD 50,000 account earns half.
  • IBKR’s Recurring Investments feature is described as covering shares. No IBIE page states that a UCITS ETF qualifies, so do not plan a scheduled ETF purchase around it until you have confirmed it in your own account.
  • The desktop platform has a real learning curve. Start in the mobile app or Client Portal.
Who this fits: portfolios where conversion volume, not trade count, is the dominant cost — and investors who want one account covering EUR, USD and GBP assets without converting back after every trade. See the full Interactive Brokers review.

DEGIRO — €1 a trade on Tradegate, with German protection schemes

DEGIRO is the only broker on this page operating through a Dutch branch, and the familiarity is real. The protection framing that usually accompanies it is not.

What it costs
  • Core Selection: €1 per trade, unlimited. The Core Selection is every ETF, ETC and ETN listed on Tradegate Exchange — over a thousand products. The price is €0.00 commission plus a €1.00 handling fee. There is no monthly free-trade allowance and the old Fair Use Policy has been waived, so any page describing one free trade per ETF per month is stale. DEGIRO’s own caveat, verbatim: “Currency or external product and spread costs may apply.”
  • No connectivity fee applies to ETFs on Tradegate, so Core Selection products carry no annual exchange charge.
  • Anything outside the Core Selection costs €2.00 commission plus the €1.00 handling fee — €3.00 all-in.
  • There is no downloadable or citable Core Selection product list, so naming individual funds is not possible. Find it in the platform under Products > Trackers, with the Commission type filter set to Core Selection, or the Stock markets filter set to Tradegate AG.
  • AutoFX runs at 0.25% by default and is included in the transaction price. A manual conversion costs €10 plus 0.25%.
Entity, protection and lending
  • The entity is flatexDEGIRO Bank Dutch Branch, trading as DEGIRO — a foreign establishment of flatexDEGIRO Bank SE, primarily supervised by BaFin, registered with DNB in the Netherlands and supervised by AFM and DNB. KvK 82510245.
  • The schemes that apply are German. Cash on the Geldrekening is covered by the Entschädigungseinrichtung deutscher Banken up to €100,000 per client. Investor compensation covers 90% of losses to a maximum of €20,000 — the 90% applies first, so a flat €20,000 is never the right figure. The DNB public register entry for flatexDEGIRO Bank SE states expressly that balances are not covered by the Dutch deposit guarantee scheme.
  • Securities lending is opt-in and off by default, and DEGIRO is your counterparty rather than the end borrower. The Netherlands is one of only four DEGIRO lending markets, so the Basic-lends / Custody-does-not distinction is live here. If you do opt in, it is all-or-nothing at portfolio level — you cannot choose which positions are lent — voting rights transfer to the borrower for the duration, and the 50/50 revenue split is of net revenue after operational costs, with DEGIRO’s own worked scenarios showing the client receiving under 40% of gross.
  • No fractional shares and no recurring or scheduled order type. You buy whole shares, manually.
  • Credit interest on uninvested cash is not published anywhere in DEGIRO’s document set — not even as a zero.
Who this fits: the Dutch investor making one or two manual buys a month who wants a Dutch-branch entity and a flat €1 on anything listed on Tradegate.

Lightyear — no securities lending on any account, and no interest on your euros

Lightyear sits between the neobrokers and IBKR: free ETF execution, a genuine multi-currency account and a published conversion rate. Dutch clients are served by Lightyear Europe AS, the Estonian entity, so the UK pricing quoted elsewhere online does not apply.

What it costs, and the custody difference
  • No execution fee and no custody fee on ETFs. The fund’s own ongoing charge applies, as it does everywhere.
  • EUR-denominated stocks, bonds, ETNs and ETCs cost €1 per order. US shares are 0.10%, minimum USD 0.10 and maximum USD 1. UK shares are £1.
  • FX 0.35%, applied on top of the live interbank rate, with no separate manual conversion charge — one rate covers both.
  • Hold EUR, GBP and USD side by side instead of converting back after every trade.
  • No securities lending on any account type. Your shares are not lent out at all — a real structural difference from a DEGIRO Basic account, and one no competitor page draws.
  • Fractional stocks and ETFs from €2, including EU-listed instruments since July 2025. The legal structure is co-ownership of the underlying share, explicitly not a CFD or derivative wrapper.
  • Four annual statements are provided free: Account, Income, Capital Gains, and Cost and Charges.
What to know before you fund it
  • Uninvested EUR cash earns nothing, in every country Lightyear serves. Only UK residents holding GBP and Hungarian residents holding HUF are paid anything on cash. The roughly 2% figures quoted elsewhere belong to Savings — a BlackRock money market fund for Dutch residents. That is an investment product where capital is at risk, not a deposit, and the rate is variable.
  • Auto-invest runs only on fractional instruments. Anything non-fractional added to a Plan is grouped under “Auto investing unavailable” and has to be bought separately, and money market funds cannot be added to Plans at all.
  • Fractional buys and sells are market orders only, and fractional positions cannot be transferred to another broker — you sell them or top up to whole shares first.
  • Regulated by the Estonian Financial Supervision Authority and passported into the Netherlands. Investor compensation is the Estonian Investor Protection Sectoral Fund, up to €20,000 across all multi-currency balances, with crypto assets excluded. Uninvested client money is not covered by the deposit guarantee fund.
  • Card, Apple Pay and Google Pay deposits cost 0.6%. SEPA transfers, instant or regular, are free.
  • Lightyear does not publish a UCITS ETF count — the roughly 6,000 figure covers stocks, funds and bonds together. Expect less depth than IBKR on niche and factor strategies.
Who this fits: a Dutch investor holding a mix of EUR, USD and GBP assets who wants a clean multi-currency account without IBKR’s setup, and who keeps their cash buffer at their bank rather than at their broker. See the full Lightyear review and the fees breakdown.

Saxo — the BinckBank successor, where “from €2” is a minimum, not a price

Saxo Bank A/S operates a Dutch branch trading as Saxo Nederland, KvK 34357130, Amsterdam. It acquired BinckBank in 2018 for €428m and migrated those clients onto its own platform. It holds a Danish banking licence, so cash carries the Danish Garantiformuen deposit guarantee, routed via DNB on behalf of the Danish fund.

Pricing, and the cap nobody else has
  • Euronext Amsterdam equities and ETFs: Bronze 0.08% with a €2 minimum and a €150 maximum · Silver 0.05%, €2 minimum, €75 maximum · Gold 0.03%, €2 minimum, €75 maximum.
  • “From €2” is a minimum, not a price. A €10,000 ETF buy on the entry tier costs 0.08% — €8, not €2. Always read the percentage and the minimum together.
  • The Netherlands is the only Saxo entity publishing a per-trade cap on every standard trade. On a large order that ceiling is worth real money; on a €500 monthly buy it never binds.
  • XETRA is a separate line at 0.08% with a €3 minimum. Never quote a Saxo minimum without naming the exchange.
  • Wisselkoerskosten are 0.25% on all three tiers.
  • Tiers: Bronze is the entry level, Silver from €200,000, Gold from €1,000,000.
  • Cash interest is 0% on all three tiers up to €100,000.
AutoInvest is free — and the service fee takes it back

Saxo’s Dutch schedule prices AutoInvest at €0 per scheduled purchase. It is not unrestricted: it covers only a selection of funds and ETFs on the SaxoInvestor platform, and only for EUR-denominated accounts. Sell orders revert to the standard tariff table.

In the same schedule sits a service fee of 0.01% per month, capped at €40, charged on portfolio value excluding derivatives and rebated the following month as a transaction credit valid for one month.

Those two lines interact, and this is the finding. An AutoInvest client pays €0 in commission, so there is nothing for the transaction credit to offset — it expires every month. The free execution is precisely what makes the service fee unrecoverable. On a €13,600 portfolio that is roughly €1.36 a month unrecovered; on €56,000, about €5.60; and it keeps scaling until the €40 cap binds at €400,000. Quoting the AutoInvest zero on its own overstates Saxo.

The AFM fine belongs on the record. In January 2025 the AFM published three penalties against Saxo totalling €1.6 million for breaches committed by BinckBank between 1 January 2021 and 11 April 2023, during the migration to Saxo: €500,000 for defective administration of investment portfolios in breach of asset-segregation rules, €500,000 for insufficient control over business processes, and €600,000 concerning customer treatment. Saxo lodged no objection and the fines became irrevocable on 25 December 2024. The conduct is historic and sits with the predecessor entity, but asset segregation is the one thing a custodian exists to get right, so it is worth knowing before you choose Saxo over a broker that has never been fined for it.

Trade Republic — a €1 settlement charge, and a savings plan that buys at an average price

Trade Republic runs the most frictionless recurring-investing setup available to Dutch residents. It is also the one broker in this group with nothing local: no Dutch branch and no Netherlands-specific tax handling.

What you actually pay
  • €1.00 settlement flat rate (Abwicklungskostenpauschale) per trade. It is not a commission, and on partial fills it is charged once per trading day rather than once per fill. Savings plans are exempt from it entirely.
  • Savings plans run from €10 to €10,000 per execution. That is a floor and a ceiling. The “from €1” figure that circulates for Trade Republic belongs to Scalable Capital — the €1 at Trade Republic is a one-off fractional buy, not a plan.
  • Savings plans execute at a pooled average price. Where one instrument is bought for several customers on the same execution date across multiple partial fills at varying prices, Trade Republic determines a single average price and settles every customer at it. You do not get a market price at a point in time — you get the day’s blended one. Rounding to the fourth decimal can also make the executed instalment slightly smaller than the amount you specified.
  • Outgoing portfolio transfer is free, though third-party costs may be added.
Currency, cash and protection
  • FX margins are absolute amounts in the quoted currency, never percentages: USD 0.0014, GBP 0.0011, CHF 0.0014 per unit. They are added on debits and subtracted on credits, and the conversion timestamp differs from the securities-transaction timestamp. The stated scope is foreign-currency income; whether a margin applies to buying a non-EUR asset is not stated anywhere in the pricing documents, so we do not claim it either way.
  • Against that, a genuine advantage: card FX is €0, on both payments and foreign ATM withdrawals. Trade Republic charges nothing to convert when you spend, but takes a margin when converting your dividends. Both facts belong together.
  • No protection figure appears anywhere in Trade Republic’s document set. Cash above the Partner Amount sits in a money market fund rather than as a deposit, and Trade Republic sets and can change the Partner Amount unilaterally without publishing it.
  • Interest on cash must be activated in the app. Balances blocked by open orders or pending card settlement earn nothing, and any headline rate above the base is a conditional, terminable Program rather than a country entitlement. No rate appears in the binding pricing documents, so we publish none.
  • No Dutch branch and no NL-specific tax handling — you work from the annual statement like everywhere else on this page.
Who this fits: the investor who wants a monthly ETF purchase to run itself and is indifferent to executing at a pooled average price rather than a live one. See the full Trade Republic review.

Scalable Capital — free plans, but €1.99 flat on every manual order

One entity serves the Netherlands cross-border under freedom of services, without a physical branch, with the AFM notified under the European passport. The reference venue quoted throughout is EIX, the European Investor Exchange.

The plan side is genuinely free
  • Savings plans cost €0 per plan and start from €1 — the lowest entry point of any broker on this page, and a tenth of Trade Republic’s €10 floor.
  • Custody €0. Deposits €0. Portfolio transfer out €0.
  • Plans: FREE at €0.00 per month, PRIME+ at €4.99 per month.
  • The two-plan lineup is not confirmed as complete. The binding client document still names a PRIME plan at €2.99 a month while the public price surface shows only two, and no Scalable source states whether PRIME can still be held, or by whom. Anyone publishing the two-plan lineup as final is publishing past that gap.
  • Fractional positions follow a stricter rule than is usually reported: individual fractions cannot be sold, and the whole position must go.
The manual-order side is not competitive
  • A manual order costs a flat €1.99 on both plans. Because the price is identical on FREE and PRIME+, no break-even exists — there is no trade count at which the paid plan pays for itself on order fees. At €1.99 flat, Scalable is not price-competitive on manual orders against a €1-settlement or zero-commission broker at any trading frequency, on either plan.
  • Any “no FX fee” claim about Scalable is refuted, not merely unsourced. A currency markup exists in the binding contract; its size is unpublished. Treat foreign-currency instruments as carrying an unknown conversion cost.
  • Broker cash pays 0% p.a. The headline interest product is a separate Overnight account carrying an active-deposit condition, and its rate is a website figure the contract declines to publish.
  • The five-bank cash distribution attaches to that Overnight account, not to broker cash — it is not protection on your uninvested trading balance, and pages presenting it that way have attached it to the wrong balance.
  • Deposit protection is the Entschädigungseinrichtung deutscher Banken, statutory at €100,000 per depositor per credit institution.
Who this fits: someone whose entire plan is a monthly automated purchase at a low contribution level, and who will place almost no manual orders. The moment you start buying by hand, the €1.99 flat rate makes it the most expensive per-trade broker in this group. See the full Scalable Capital review.

Euronext Amsterdam charges €0.75 on ETFs, and IBKR passes it through

This is the single most Amsterdam-specific cost fact available, and it lands on exactly the product this page’s audience buys.

IBKR markets its Fixed pricing as covering third-party fees, so that the quoted minimum is the whole cost. On Euronext that is not true for ETFs. Footnote 3 of the pricing schedule states, verbatim:

“Euronext (FR/NL/BE) – EUR 0.75 per execution exchange fee passed through on ETF products only.”

So a €3.00 Fixed SmartRouted UCITS ETF trade on Euronext Amsterdam is €3.75 all-in, not €3.00. It applies per execution, on ETF products only, and only on Euronext France, the Netherlands and Belgium. A Dutch investor buying a UCITS ETF on Amsterdam under Fixed pricing hits this on every single purchase — and €3.00 should never be quoted as the all-in Dutch ETF cost.

What this changes in practice: the gap between IBKR and a zero-commission broker on small monthly ETF buys is wider than the headline suggests. On a €500 monthly purchase, €3.75 is 0.75% of the contribution. Tiered pricing from €1.25 and the €1.25 fractional Fixed minimum both remain cheaper routes on small orders — and Trading 212 at €0 plus DEGIRO at €1 on Tradegate sidestep the Amsterdam listing entirely. Model your own numbers in the Dutch broker cost calculator.

Brokers that are not ranked, and why

Three of these are excluded for reasons worth reading. The rest are names Dutch investors ask about often enough to address.

XTB — Dutch residents are routed to the Cyprus entity, which has no real stocks or ETFs

XTB markets 0% commission on stocks and ETFs across Europe and is widely recommended on Dutch broker lists. That offer belongs to the Polish entity. Asked directly, as a Dutch resident, XTB support confirmed that the account opens with XTB Limited in Cyprus, under CySEC licence 169/12, and that “real (non-CFD) stocks and ETFs are not available. The available products are stock CFDs and ETF CFDs.”

That is corroborated on XTB’s own surfaces. The xtb.com Cyprus footer gives Pikioni 10, Highsight Rentals Ltd, 3075 Limassol. XTB’s help centre, updated 3 February 2026, states that EU residents are onboarded in XTB Limited, authorised and regulated by the Cyprus Securities and Exchange Commission.

A CFD is a leveraged derivative contract, not ownership of a fund. A Dutch reader following a 0%-commission ETF recommendation to XTB does not end up holding a UCITS ETF. That is why XTB is described here and not ranked, and no competitor page currently makes the distinction.

eToro

eToro does offer real stocks to Dutch residents, but it has charged a real-stock commission since 11 August 2024: USD 2 per trade on the Australian, Hong Kong, Dubai, Abu Dhabi and Tokyo exchanges, and USD 1 on all other exchanges. The pricing is in dollars on a euro-funded account, which means a conversion sits underneath every trade. It is a social-trading platform first and a UCITS ETF platform a distant second, which is why it is not in the ranking. Read the eToro review →

Mintos — excluded

Mintos accepts card deposits only for cards issued in twenty named countries, and the Netherlands is not among them. To be precise about what that is: it is a deposit-method limitation, not a bar on Dutch residents opening an account. Two harder problems rule it out here regardless — there is no Dutch tax report, and positions cannot be transferred off the platform, so you have no exit route other than selling.

Dutch names you will see elsewhere. BUX and BUX Zero, LYNX, MEXEM, and the bank brokerages at ABN AMRO, ING and Rabobank all serve Dutch investors and several are perfectly reasonable choices. They are not ranked here because QuantRoutine has no verified fee file for any of them, and this page’s whole method is to quote the broker’s own published schedule rather than a secondhand summary. Naming them without numbers is the honest position; quoting numbers we have not read would not be.

Full comparison table

Every cell is drawn from the entity that serves Dutch residents, not from the brand’s global marketing. Blank-looking answers are deliberate: where a broker does not publish a figure, this table says so rather than guessing.

Feature Trading 212 IBKR DEGIRO Lightyear Saxo Trade Republic Scalable
Entity serving NL Trading 212 EU GmbH Interactive Brokers Ireland flatexDEGIRO Bank Dutch Branch Lightyear Europe AS Saxo Bank A/S, Dutch branch Trade Republic Bank GmbH Cross-border, no branch
Supervisor BaFin Central Bank of Ireland BaFin primary · AFM and DNB Estonian FSA Danish FSA BaFin BaFin · AFM notified
Cash protection EdB €100,000 per partner bank Not a deposit guarantee EdB €100,000 on the Geldrekening Not covered by a deposit fund Danish Garantiformuen No figure published EdB €100,000 per institution
Investor compensation German scheme Irish ICS — 90% of loss, max €20,000 German — 90% of loss, max €20,000 Estonian fund, up to €20,000 Danish scheme No figure published German scheme
ETF cost per trade €0 Fixed 0.05%, min €3.00 · Tiered from €1.25 €1 Core Selection · €3.00 outside it €0 0.08%, min €2, max €150 (Bronze) €1.00 settlement flat rate €1.99 flat, both plans
Euronext Amsterdam ETF surcharge None stated +€0.75 per execution passed through None stated None stated None stated None stated None stated
FX conversion 0.15%, never more, weekends included 3 bps auto · 0.20 bps spot, min USD 2.00 0.25% AutoFX, embedded 0.35% on the interbank rate 0.25%, all tiers Absolute margin per unit; buy-side scope not stated Markup exists, size unpublished
Multi-currency account Yes Yes — 23 interest-eligible currencies No — AutoFX per trade Yes — EUR, GBP, USD Yes No No
Custody / platform fee €0 €0 €0 on Tradegate products €0 0.01%/month, max €40, credit expires monthly €0 €0
Fractional ETFs Yes Yes — Fixed min €1.25 No — whole shares only Yes, from €2 Not stated Yes Yes — sell whole position only
Recurring / savings plan AutoInvest pies Shares only; ETF eligibility not stated No recurring order type Plans, fractional instruments only AutoInvest €0, EUR accounts, selected funds €0, €10 to €10,000 per execution €0 per plan, from €1
Securities lending No lending offer on the NL price tab Opt-in, revenue shared Opt-in, off by default · Basic yes, Custody no None on any account type Not stated Not stated Not stated
Interest on uninvested EUR Opt-in; none paid if not enabled Proportional below USD 100,000 NAV Not published None — EUR earns nothing 0% to €100,000, all tiers Must be activated in the app 0% on broker cash
Dutch tax handling Annual statement Annual statement Annual statement Four annual statements Annual statement Annual statement · no NL-specific handling Annual statement
Dutch funding note NL absent from instant-transfer list; SEPA only SEPA SEPA SEPA free · card and wallet 0.6% SEPA SEPA free · card and wallet 1% after the first Deposits €0
The FX row is the one to read twice if you buy USD-priced assets. The gap between 0.15% and an unpublished markup compounds over a decade of contributions, and an unpublished number cannot be budgeted for at all. See FX drag — what currency conversion really costs.

How these seven were ranked

Because there is no Dutch tax-agent axis to rank on, the ranking is built on cost and custody structure. Five criteria, in the order they mattered:

  • All-in cost of a real Dutch trade — commission plus handling plus any exchange fee passed through, on the exchange a Dutch investor actually uses, not a headline minimum.
  • Currency conversion — the published rate, the route it applies to, and whether a per-order floor makes it worse at retail size.
  • Custody structure — which legal entity holds the account, which supervisor stands behind it, and what the compensation scheme actually pays.
  • What happens to your shares and cash — securities lending, whether it is on by default, and where uninvested cash sits.
  • Box 3 workability — how easily you can pull a 1 January value and a dividend breakdown out of the platform. None of them pre-fills anything, so this is a documentation test, not a tax-service one.

Every figure on this page is taken from the broker’s own published pricing schedule, terms, or a direct answer from their support team, for the entity that serves the Netherlands. Where a broker publishes nothing, this page says nothing rather than repeating a number from a comparison site. Full detail on how we verify: our methodology.

Also hold crypto? In the Netherlands, crypto holdings fall under Box 3 too — taxed on a deemed return based on the value of your portfolio on 1 January, not on realised gains. You need an accurate snapshot of your total crypto value on that date across all exchanges and wallets. Blockpit generates a pre-filled Dutch tax report and calculates the correct Box 3 reference value automatically. Read the Blockpit review → If you also hold assets on exchanges Blockpit doesn’t support, Koinly is an alternative with broader international integration.

Open an account

DEGIRO — the Dutch-branch route at €1 a trade

If you want a Dutch-branch entity and a flat €1 on everything listed on Tradegate, DEGIRO is the straightforward choice. Check the Basic versus Custody decision first — that is what determines whether your shares can be lent — and remember that whichever broker you pick, the Box 3 value on 1 January is yours to report.



Frequently asked questions

Which broker is cheapest for a Dutch investor buying UCITS ETFs?

For a Dutch investor buying EUR-denominated UCITS ETFs monthly, Trading 212 is the cheapest confirmed route: no commission, no custody fee, and a currency conversion fee of 0.15% that never exceeds 0.15%, including at weekends. DEGIRO costs €1 per trade on the Core Selection, which is every ETF, ETC and ETN listed on Tradegate. Interactive Brokers becomes competitive at larger sizes, where its FX pricing outweighs its per-trade minimum, but its Fixed minimum on Euronext Amsterdam ETFs is €3.00 plus a €0.75 exchange fee passed through.

Do I need to declare my brokerage account in my Dutch tax return?

Yes. Investments at any broker, Dutch or foreign, are declared as Box 3 assets in your belastingaangifte, valued on 1 January. No broker on this list pre-fills those values for you. DEGIRO’s own Dutch helpdesk states plainly that the Belastingdienst does not carry its financial data into the pre-filled income tax return and that you must complete that part of the return yourself. Every broker here issues an annual statement you work from manually.

What are the Box 3 figures for 2026 and 2027?

For 2026 the heffingsvrij vermogen is €59,357 per person or €118,714 for fiscal partners, the deemed return on beleggingen is 6.00% and the rate is 36%. For 2027 the heffingsvrij vermogen rises to €60,098 per person or €120,196 for fiscal partners, the deemed return on beleggingen is definitively fixed at 6.37% and the rate stays at 36%. The beleggingen forfait is set early because it is derived from returns two years back. The tegenbewijsregeling, which lets you pay on your actual return where it was lower than the deemed return, remains in force for both 2026 and 2027.

Is the Box 3 actual-return system still coming in 2028?

It is less likely than it was. The Wet werkelijk rendement box 3 passed the Tweede Kamer on 12 February 2026, but the Eerste Kamer held its vote on 30 June 2026 pending a novelle. That novelle did not arrive: no box 3 measure was proposed on 15 September 2026 and no novelle was submitted. The cabinet states in the Belastingplan 2027 cover letter that it has no proposal capable of broad parliamentary support, and a joint box 3 Kamerbrief of 13 September 2026 asks the Eerste Kamer to hold treatment until the next budgetary moment in spring 2027. For entry into force on 1 January 2028 the Eerste Kamer would have to pass the bill by 31 December 2026. Until then the current forfaitair system plus the tegenbewijsregeling continues to apply.

Does it matter for Box 3 whether I choose an accumulating or distributing ETF?

For the Box 3 calculation it makes no difference. Both are taxed on the same 1 January portfolio value at the same deemed return. It does affect dividend withholding drag during the year: distributing ETFs pay out dividends on which Dutch dividendbelasting of 15% is withheld first and which you then credit in your aangifte, while accumulating ETFs reinvest internally and avoid the distribution step entirely. For most Dutch investors in the accumulation phase, an accumulating fund is simpler.

Is money at DEGIRO protected by the Dutch deposit guarantee scheme?

No. DEGIRO in the Netherlands is flatexDEGIRO Bank Dutch Branch, a foreign establishment of flatexDEGIRO Bank SE, primarily supervised by BaFin. The applicable schemes are German. Cash on the Geldrekening is covered by the Entschädigungseinrichtung deutscher Banken up to €100,000 per client. Investor compensation is the German scheme, which covers 90% of losses on investments that cannot be returned, subject to a maximum of €20,000 per client. The 90% applies first, so a flat €20,000 is never the right figure. The DNB public register entry for flatexDEGIRO Bank SE states expressly that balances are not covered by the Dutch deposit guarantee scheme.

Can Dutch investors buy US ETFs like VOO or VTI?

No. EU residents, including Dutch investors, cannot buy US-registered ETFs under PRIIPs regulation, which requires an EU-compliant Key Information Document that US fund managers have not produced for their US-domiciled funds. You use UCITS equivalents listed on Euronext Amsterdam, XETRA or the LSE instead. These track the same indices and are available across the brokers in this guide.

Can Dutch residents buy real stocks and ETFs at XTB?

No. XTB markets 0% commission on stocks and ETFs across Europe, but Dutch residents are not onboarded to the Polish entity that offers those products. XTB support, asked directly as a Dutch resident, stated that the account opens with XTB Limited in Cyprus under CySEC licence 169/12 and that real, non-CFD stocks and ETFs are not available there, the available products being stock CFDs and ETF CFDs. XTB’s own help centre, updated 3 February 2026, states that EU residents are onboarded in XTB Limited, authorised and regulated by CySEC. That is why XTB is described here but not ranked.

Why does a €3.00 Interactive Brokers ETF trade on Euronext Amsterdam actually cost €3.75?

Because of an exchange fee IBKR passes through on ETFs specifically. IBKR’s Fixed pricing is advertised as carrying no third-party fees, but footnote 3 of its pricing schedule states that on Euronext France, Netherlands and Belgium a €0.75 per-execution exchange fee is passed through on ETF products only. A €3.00 Fixed SmartRouted UCITS ETF trade on Euronext Amsterdam therefore costs €3.75 all-in. It applies to exactly the market and product most Dutch index investors use, so €3.00 should never be quoted as the all-in Dutch ETF cost.

How does dividend withholding tax work for Dutch investors?

Dutch dividends carry 15% dividendbelasting, withheld by the company rather than by your broker, and credited against your income tax in your annual aangifte. For Irish-domiciled UCITS ETFs, US withholding tax is applied at fund level at a reduced 15% treaty rate, which is the main ongoing drag for EU index investors. Accumulating funds avoid distributed dividends entirely and simplify reporting, though the asset value still counts for Box 3 on 1 January. Your broker is not a withholding agent for Dutch capital gains, because Box 3 taxes portfolio value rather than gains.

Some of the links on this site are affiliate links, meaning we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you if you sign up through them. This does not affect our reviews or recommendations — we only feature products we genuinely believe are useful for investors. This site provides educational content only, not personalized investment advice. Investments can lose value and past performance does not guarantee future results. You are responsible for your own financial decisions and for confirming the tax and legal rules that apply in your country. Tax rules, thresholds, and Box 3 figures can change — verify current rates with the Belastingdienst.