Best broker for Portuguese investors

Best Broker Guide — Portugal · Updated September 2026

Best Broker for Portuguese Investors (2026)

Portugal gives long-term investors something most of Europe does not: a capital gains rate that falls the longer you hold, down to 19.6% at eight years. Whether you can actually claim it turns on which annex your disposals land on — and that turns on who issued the fund, not on who your broker is. This guide compares XTB, Trade Republic, Lightyear, Trading 212 and Interactive Brokers on cost, currency, records and Portuguese tax handling.

Best broker for Portuguese investors hero banner showing the Portuguese flag and three broker options on smartphone screens, with euro coins and key labels highlighting low fees, ETF savings plans, and broad investing features on a map background.

Some of the links on this site are affiliate links, meaning we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you if you sign up through them. This does not affect our reviews or recommendations — we only feature products we genuinely believe are useful for investors. This site provides educational content only, not personalized investment advice. Investments can lose value and past performance does not guarantee future results. You are responsible for your own financial decisions and for confirming the tax and legal rules that apply in your country.


Portugal’s holding-period discount — and the annex problem

This is the single most important thing a Portuguese long-term investor should understand before choosing a broker, and almost no comparison page covers it.

Holding period Gain excluded Effective rate
Under 2 years None 28.0%
2 to 5 years 10% 25.2%
5 to 8 years 20% 22.4%
8 years or more 30% 19.6%

The exclusion comes from Lei n.º 31/2024 of 28 June, amending article 43.º of the CIRS. It applies to securities admitted to trading on a regulated market and to units in open-ended collective investment undertakings, so UCITS ETFs qualify on the face of the law. XTB’s own Portuguese tax guide publishes the same three reduced rates. It does not apply to crypto, CFDs, unlisted shares, or issuers on Portugal’s tax-haven list.

Where it breaks down

Claiming the exclusion requires ticking that the securities are admitted to trading on a regulated market, or are units in an open-ended OIC. That field exists on Anexo G. It does not exist on Anexo J — the annex every foreign-source disposal uses. Reported in January 2026 by EasyTax in Jornal Económico, which states plainly that on Anexo J there is currently no field for indicating whether the securities qualify.

And why a Portuguese broker doesn’t fix it

There is a route out in theory: where the registering or depositary entity is established in Portugal and files declaração Modelo 33, disposals can appear pre-filled on Anexo G. But XTB — the broker with the CMVM-registered branch — allocates the annexes on its own tax guide by the residence of the issuer, not the broker: Anexo G for assets issued by resident entities, Anexo J boxes 9.2A and 9.2B for assets issued by non-resident entities. An Irish-domiciled UCITS ETF is a non-resident issuer.

What this means in practice: on the reading XTB itself publishes, a VWCE or IWDA disposal lands on Anexo J no matter which broker you hold it through, and the qualifying-nature field is not there to tick. Not every source agrees — one Portuguese accountancy firm states foreign shares and ETFs go on Anexo J regardless of where the broker is based, while Novo Banco’s fiscal guide says it cannot yet anticipate whether the partial-exclusion regime will change the form. No broker on this page solves this. Anyone telling you a particular broker unlocks the eight-year rate on a UCITS ETF is going further than the published sources support. Confirm your own position with a Portuguese accountant before relying on the reduced rate.

Five brokers worth considering from Portugal

Five names qualify on published, Portugal-specific sources. That is the honest count — several well-known brokers publish nothing that applies to Portugal specifically, and they are covered further down without figures rather than padded into the table.

Broker Best for ETF commission FX fee
XTB Best overall — zero commission, CMVM branch €0 to €100k/month turnover 0.5%
Trade Republic Portuguese IBAN and local branch €0 savings plans / €1 manual Not stated for purchases
Lightyear Multi-currency, published FX €0 ETFs 0.364% incl. stamp duty
Trading 212 Lowest published FX, automated plans €0 0.15%, no minimum
Interactive Brokers Large conversions and wide market access €1.25 min tiered / €6 min fixed 3 bps auto, or from 0.20 bps min $2
Bottom line: for a Portuguese resident buying EUR-listed UCITS ETFs monthly, XTB is the cheapest route that also has a local establishment — €0 commission on manual orders and plans alike, with a Portuguese-format annual report. Trade Republic matches it on cost for savings-plan investors and beats it on cash handling since its Lisbon branch opened, but does not publish an FX margin for asset purchases. Trading 212 has the lowest published conversion cost of the five.

What else changes your real return here

Four Portugal-specific mechanics that affect which broker and which fund structure make sense.

The 4% imposto do selo — on the fee, not the trade

Portuguese stamp duty applies at 4% to financial-service commissions under Verba 17.3.4 of the TGIS. It is charged on the fee you pay your broker, not on the value of your trade. Lightyear is the only broker here that documents collecting and remitting it: its 0.35% conversion fee becomes 0.364% effective. Whether the others collect it is not stated in any source we could read — treat it as unknown, not as absent.

Accumulating ETFs still make sense

Portugal applies no annual tax on unrealised gains, unlike Germany or the Netherlands. Accumulating share classes reinvest internally and defer everything until you sell — which also means the holding clock keeps running rather than resetting on a distribution. Irish-domiciled UCITS ETFs suffer 15% US withholding at fund level rather than 30%, so the wrapper costs you little.

Mandatory englobamento on short holds

If you sell securities held under 365 days and your total taxable income including those gains reaches the top bracket — €83,696 for 2025 income, indexed annually — aggregation at progressive IRS rates becomes mandatory rather than optional. Below that threshold, englobamento is a choice, and it generally only helps if your effective rate is under 28%. It is elected in box 15 of Anexo G or box 9.2 C of Anexo J.

Regulation and protection are not uniform

XTB and Trade Republic hold local registrations — CMVM number 341 and a Banco de Portugal branch registration respectively. The others passport in: Trading 212 through Cyprus, Lightyear from Estonia, Interactive Brokers from Ireland. The compensation scheme follows the home state, not Portugal, so the figures differ: XTB publishes €20,100 under the Polish scheme, Lightyear €20,000 under the Estonian fund, IBKR 90% of losses to €20,000 in Ireland, Trading 212 €20,000 through the Cypriot ICF.

One practical thing: adding Anexo J to your Modelo 3 disables the IRS simulator. Run the simulation without it first if you want a usable estimate, then add the annex before submitting.

XTB — cheapest execution with a Portuguese establishment

XTB is the only broker here that combines zero commission on ordinary orders with a branch registered in Portugal. That combination is what puts it first, not its tax handling — which has a real flaw covered below.

Why XTB wins for Portugal
  • €0 commission on stocks and ETFs up to €100,000 of turnover per calendar month, counted cumulatively across all your accounts and reset monthly. Above the threshold, 0.2% with a €10 minimum.
  • XTB S.A. – Sucursal em Portugal, Praça Duque de Saldanha 1, Lisbon, registered with the CMVM under number 341. Supervised by the Polish KNF as group regulator and by the CMVM locally.
  • Annual capital-gains report in the client area, usually available by 1 April, laid out for Modelo 3.
  • Platform, help centre and tax documentation entirely in Portuguese, plus a Lisbon phone line.
  • Minimum deposit €1 and minimum investment €1 — the lowest entry point of the five.
  • Investment plans available for recurring contributions, priced under the same zero-commission structure.
  • Interest paid on uninvested funds, calculated daily and paid monthly, with no minimum or maximum balance.
What to know before opening
  • 35% withholding on Portuguese-issuer dividends. XTB holds shares in an omnibus account, so the Portuguese paying entity cannot identify beneficial owners and applies the highest rate rather than the 28% liberatory rate. XTB states this on its own tax guide. It matters if you hold Portuguese equities; it does not affect Irish-domiciled ETFs.
  • The same mechanism produces 30% on US-listed shares, though XTB allows W-8BEN to be filed on the platform, which brings that to 15%.
  • 0.5% currency conversion — the highest of the five. Irrelevant if you buy EUR-listed UCITS ETFs, expensive if you buy USD-listed shares regularly.
  • Investor compensation is the Polish scheme at €20,100, published on XTB’s own Portuguese terms page — not a Portuguese scheme.
  • XTB does not publish a withholding rate on interest. Its interest page says tax may be withheld and remitted by XTB S.A. or its foreign branches at the rates in force. Do not assume 28%; check your monthly statement, which shows the amount deducted.
  • CFDs sit alongside the real-share account. Use the stocks and ETFs side only.
€0
Commission to €100k/mo
0.5%
Currency conversion
341
CMVM register number
€20,100
Investor compensation (PL)

Trade Republic — the only Portuguese IBAN on this list

The July 2026 branch changed what Trade Republic is in Portugal: a domestic bank account with a PT50 IBAN attached to an investing app. For anyone holding a cash buffer alongside their ETFs that is a real improvement — though the tax treatment of the interest is less settled than the coverage suggests.

What the Lisbon branch changed
  • Since 16 July 2026, Trade Republic Bank GmbH – Sucursal em Portugal operates from Av. da República 50 in Lisbon, registered with the Banco de Portugal as the branch of an EU credit institution.
  • Portuguese PT50 IBAN — salary deposits, direct debits and domestic transfers work as they do with a Portuguese bank.
  • The account stops being a foreign one. With a PT50 IBAN there is no foreign account to report in box 11 of Anexo J. Whether the 28% on the interest is now withheld at source or merely reported to the Autoridade Tributária is contested between Portuguese sources and Trade Republic states neither, so treat the withholding as unconfirmed and check your monthly statement. Migration is optional: clients who keep the German IBAN stay under the previous arrangement.
  • Savings plans are free per execution, on ETFs, shares, ELTIFs and crypto assets. Manual orders are €1 under Best Price or €2 under Direct Price for a choice of 30 venues.
  • The €1 flat rate is charged once per trading day on partial fills, not once per fill.
  • Cash up to the Partner Amount sits under the German deposit guarantee at €100,000.
Why it is not first
  • The FX margin on asset purchases is not published. Trade Republic quotes margins as absolute amounts in the quoted currency on foreign-currency income — USD 0.0014, GBP 0.0011, CHF 0.0014. Whether a margin applies when you buy a non-EUR asset is not stated in its price list at all. On a page about eight-year holding costs, an unquantifiable recurring cost is a real mark against it.
  • Local tax reporting is contractually optional. The customer agreement says Trade Republic may provide local tax reporting, without obligation or liability, and reserves the right to discontinue it at the end of a tax year on four weeks’ notice.
  • Savings plans run from €10 to €10,000 per execution — not from €1, whatever the marketing says.
  • Savings plan orders settle at a single average price pooled across all customers buying that instrument that day, not at a price you see at a moment in time.
  • Cash above the Partner Amount sits in a money market fund rather than a deposit. Trade Republic sets that threshold and does not publish it.
  • Moving country is expressly grounds for termination without notice — including moving to another country Trade Republic serves.
Who this fits: a Portuguese resident who wants one app for a cash buffer and an automated ETF plan, and who buys EUR-denominated funds so the unpublished FX margin never bites. If you intend to hold USD-listed assets, price XTB’s published 0.5% or Trading 212’s 0.15% against a margin nobody can quote you.

Lightyear — multi-currency, and the only broker that documents the stamp duty

Lightyear sits between the neobrokers and Interactive Brokers: free ETF execution, a genuine multi-currency account, and one Portugal-specific interaction no other broker on this page documents.

Why Lightyear works
  • No execution fee and no custody fee on ETFs. The fund’s own ongoing charge still applies, as it does everywhere.
  • EUR-denominated stocks, bonds, ETNs and ETCs cost €1 per order. US shares are 0.10%, minimum $0.10 and maximum $1; UK shares are £1.
  • 0.35% FX on the live interbank rate, 0.364% effective for Portuguese residents once the 4% stamp on the conversion fee is added. Lightyear collects and remits it to the Portuguese Tax Authorities. Lower than XTB’s 0.5%, and a published number rather than an unstated one.
  • Multi-currency account: hold EUR, GBP and USD side by side instead of converting back after every trade.
  • Fractional stocks and ETFs from €2, structured as co-ownership of the underlying share — explicitly not a CFD or derivative wrapper.
  • No securities lending on any account type. Your shares are not lent out.
  • Four annual statements free, including a Capital Gains statement — the input you need for Modelo 3.
What to know
  • Fractional positions cannot be transferred to another broker. On an eight-year horizon this is a real constraint: you either sell them or top up to whole shares before moving. Selling restarts the holding clock.
  • Uninvested EUR cash earns no interest. Lightyear pays cash interest only to UK residents on GBP and Hungarian residents on HUF. The rates quoted elsewhere belong to Savings, a J.P. Morgan Asset Management money market fund for Portuguese residents — an investment product where capital is at risk, not a deposit.
  • Auto-invest runs only on fractional instruments. Anything non-fractional added to a Plan has to be bought separately, and money market funds cannot go into Plans at all.
  • Lightyear does not publish a UCITS ETF count — the figure quoted publicly spans stocks, funds and bonds together.
  • Lightyear Europe AS is authorised by the Estonian Financial Supervision Authority and passported into Portugal. Compensation is the Estonian Investor Protection Sectoral Fund up to €20,000; crypto assets are excluded.
  • No Portuguese-language platform or local office. Support is email and in-app chat only, with no telephone dealing.
  • Card, Apple Pay and Google Pay deposits cost 0.6%. SEPA transfers are free.

Trading 212 and Interactive Brokers

Both are legitimate choices from Portugal, and both have a Portugal-specific detail that gets left out of most comparisons.

Pick #4 — Trading 212
Lowest published FX, and a different legal entity than you think
  • 0.15% FX with no minimum — the cheapest published conversion of the five, and it never exceeds 0.15% including weekends.
  • €0 commission on shares, fractional shares and ETFs. For EU clients the Invest universe is shares, fractional shares and ETFs only — bonds are a UK-account product, not an EU one.
  • Portuguese clients contract with Trading 212 Markets Ltd, the Cypriot entity, CySEC licence 398/21 — not the German entity that serves the Netherlands, Germany, France and Spain. Compensation is the Cypriot ICF up to €20,000.
  • On the Cypriot entity, Interactive Brokers is the sole custodian. There is no BNY Mellon leg as there is on the UK and German entities.
  • Holdings sit in a mixed omnibus custody account. On an unreconciled shortfall following a custodian default, clients share in that shortfall pro rata.
  • Pies and AutoInvest automate recurring contributions, though the operating limits behind them are published only in help articles, not in the terms.

Best for: investors who buy USD- or GBP-listed assets regularly and want the conversion cost as low as it goes.

Pick #5 — Interactive Brokers
Powerful, but Portugal is one of its expensive markets
  • Portugal is priced above most of Europe. Tiered carries a €1.25 minimum, but Fixed is 0.15% with a €6.00 minimum — against 0.05% and €3.00 for Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands and Spain. Portugal is one of only three expensive outliers in IBKR’s European table.
  • Fractional shares are not offered in Portugal. They are available in eleven European markets; Portugal is not among them. That rules out small automated contributions in fractions.
  • Two separate FX mechanisms, and the difference is the whole story: auto-conversion at 3 basis points of trade value, or a manual spot FX order from 0.20 basis points with a $2.00 minimum per order.
  • That floor is what governs at retail size. $2 on a €500 conversion is 0.4%; on €10,000 it is 0.02%. The break-even against Trading 212’s 0.15% sits near €1,300 per conversion. Below it, Trading 212 wins. Above it, IBKR wins and keeps winning.
  • No custody fee, no inactivity fee, no minimum account balance.
  • EU clients are served by Interactive Brokers Ireland Ltd; Irish compensation covers 90% of losses up to €20,000.

Best for: larger portfolios converting meaningful sums at a time, or investors who need markets the others do not carry.


Four brokers that did not make the table, and why

These are covered without figures because there is nothing Portugal-specific to quote, or because a structural feature disqualifies them on a long-holding page. Padding a table to a round number would be the easier option and a worse one.

eToro

eToro does publish Portugal-specific real-stock commissions — $1 on most exchanges and $2 on Australia, Hong Kong, Dubai, Abu Dhabi and Tokyo, in force since 11 August 2024 — and Portuguese clients get a local EUR-denominated account. The problem is structural rather than a missing figure: the underlying account is denominated in USD and conversion between your local currency and USD runs at 0.75%. On a monthly contribution held for years, that sits in front of every euro before it buys anything. It is a reasonable place to trade and a poor place to accumulate. Full eToro review.

Saxo

Saxo is a strong platform with deep ETF coverage, but it publishes no Portuguese fee schedule and has no Portuguese entity. Every Saxo number circulating on Portuguese comparison pages is imported from another country’s price list. Rather than quote a Dutch or French figure and label it Portuguese, we quote nothing. Saxo review.

Scalable Capital

Scalable serves several EU markets cross-border under freedom of services, with the host authorities in France, Italy, the Netherlands, Spain and Austria notified. Portugal is not on that list in its own documentation, and no source places it there. Separately, a currency markup exists in its binding contract but its size is published nowhere — so any claim that Scalable charges no FX fee is refuted regardless of country. Scalable review.

Mintos

Mintos accepts Portuguese clients and Portuguese-issued card deposits, but two facts disqualify it here. Positions cannot leave the platform — there is no transfer out to another broker. And country-specific tax reports exist for Estonia, Germany and Latvia only; Portugal gets a generic template. On a page about holding for eight years and documenting a cost basis, those are structural, not footnotes. Mintos review.


Full breakdown for Portuguese investors

Headline commission is rarely the deciding number. Currency conversion and local tax handling are where the differences compound.

Broker ETF commission FX fee Custody Recurring plans PT tax handling
XTB €0 to €100k/mo, then 0.2% (min €10) 0.5% None Yes CMVM branch; annual PT report
Trade Republic €0 plans / €1 Best Price, €2 Direct Price Not stated for purchases None Yes, €10–€10,000 BdP branch; PT50 IBAN
Lightyear €0 ETFs 0.364%* None Fractional only Capital gains statement; collects stamp duty
Trading 212 €0 0.15%, no minimum None Yes (Pies) None; Cyprus entity
Interactive Brokers Tiered min €1.25 / Fixed 0.15% min €6 3 bps auto, or 0.20 bps min $2 None No fractionals in PT None; Ireland entity

* Lightyear’s published conversion fee is 0.35%. Portuguese stamp duty is charged at 4% of the fees you pay Lightyear — currently the conversion fee — and is collected and remitted by Lightyear to the Autoridade Tributária, bringing the effective rate to 0.364%. It is not a levy on the value of your trade.

Why the FX column decides more than the commission column: most broad UCITS trackers are available EUR-listed on Euronext or Xetra, in which case no conversion happens and the FX column is irrelevant. Buy the USD line of the same fund and it applies on every purchase for as long as you keep contributing. Decide which listing you will use before you decide which broker — it changes the ranking. Our study on the true cost of currency conversion models the long-run drag.

Which one fits your situation?

Choose XTB if you…
  • Buy EUR-listed UCITS ETFs and want zero commission on both manual orders and plans.
  • Want a Portuguese-language platform, a Lisbon office and a CMVM registration you can check.
  • Value a Portuguese-format annual report that feeds straight into Modelo 3.
  • Do not plan to hold Portuguese-issuer shares that pay dividends.
  • Stay well under €100,000 of monthly turnover.
Choose Trade Republic if you…
  • Keep a meaningful cash buffer and want it under a Portuguese IBAN rather than a German one.
  • Want a Portuguese IBAN you can receive a salary into.
  • Invest through automated savings plans of €10 or more, in EUR-denominated funds.
  • Are comfortable that the FX margin on purchases is not published anywhere.
Choose Lightyear if you…
  • Hold EUR, USD and GBP and want them side by side rather than converted back each time.
  • Want the stamp-duty interaction handled and documented rather than left to you.
  • Care that your shares are never lent out.
  • Can live with buying whole shares if you might transfer out later.
Choose Trading 212 or IBKR if you…
  • Trading 212: convert under roughly €1,300 at a time and want the lowest published rate at 0.15%.
  • IBKR: convert well above that, where the $2 spot floor stops mattering and 0.20 bps takes over.
  • Accept that neither offers any Portuguese tax handling, and that IBKR has no fractional shares in Portugal.

Ready to open an account?

XTB is the default pick for a Portuguese resident buying EUR-listed UCITS ETFs: zero commission, a CMVM-registered branch and a Portuguese annual report. Trade Republic is the better fit if a cash buffer and a Portuguese IBAN matter more. Lightyear suits a genuinely multi-currency portfolio. All three accept Portuguese residents.



Frequently asked questions

Which broker is best for Portuguese investors?

XTB is the strongest all-round choice for a Portuguese resident building a long-term ETF portfolio: zero commission on stock and ETF orders up to €100,000 of monthly turnover, a currency conversion fee published at 0.5%, and a branch registered with the CMVM under number 341 that issues an annual capital-gains report in Portuguese format. Trade Republic is the closest alternative on cash handling: since 16 July 2026 it operates a Portuguese branch registered with the Banco de Portugal and issues PT50 IBANs, so the account is no longer a foreign one to report. Portuguese sources disagree on whether interest is now withheld at source or simply reported to the Autoridade Tributaria, and Trade Republic publishes no statement either way, so check your own statement before assuming. Lightyear suits investors holding EUR, USD and GBP side by side, and Trading 212 has the lowest published FX fee at 0.15% with no minimum.

Can Portuguese investors claim the eight-year capital gains discount on ETFs?

In law, yes. Lei n.º 31/2024 of 28 June introduced a partial exclusion under article 43.º of the CIRS that scales with holding period: 10% excluded between two and five years, 20% between five and eight, and 30% at eight years or more, taking the effective rate from 28% down to 25.2%, 22.4% and 19.6%. In practice, claiming it requires declaring that the securities are admitted to trading on a regulated market or are units in an open-ended collective investment undertaking — and that field exists on Anexo G but not on Anexo J. XTB’s own Portuguese tax guide allocates the annexes by the residence of the issuer, not the residence of the broker: assets issued by resident entities go on Anexo G, assets issued by non-resident entities go on Anexo J, boxes 9.2A and 9.2B. An Irish-domiciled UCITS ETF is issued by a non-resident entity, so it lands on Anexo J whichever broker you use. Not every source reads it the same way, and this is worth putting to a Portuguese accountant rather than settling from a comparison page.

Does any broker withhold Portuguese tax on interest automatically?

Not with the certainty the marketing implies, and this is worth being careful about. Trade Republic opened a Portuguese branch on 16 July 2026, registered with the Banco de Portugal, and clients who migrate receive a PT50 IBAN — which does remove the obligation to report a foreign account in box 11 of Anexo J. What happens to the tax on the interest is contested: several Portuguese personal-finance sites state that 28% is now withheld at source and that the interest no longer needs declaring, while at least one states that withholding is not yet applied at the moment of payment and that what actually changed is Trade Republic reporting the interest directly to the tax authority. Trade Republic publishes no statement either way. XTB is similarly vague — its interest page says tax may be withheld and remitted by XTB S.A. or its foreign branches at the rates in force, with no rate given. In both cases your own monthly statement is the reliable answer, because it shows any amount deducted. Neither arrangement affects capital gains on ETFs, which are declared separately.

Is online trading legal in Portugal?

Yes. Portugal is an EU member state and investors are covered by MiFID II. The securities regulator is the CMVM, the Comissão do Mercado de Valores Mobiliários. Some brokers hold a local registration: XTB operates through XTB S.A. – Sucursal em Portugal, registered with the CMVM under number 341, and Trade Republic operates a branch registered with the Banco de Portugal. Others serve Portuguese clients cross-border under a MiFID II passport, including Trading 212 through its Cypriot entity, Lightyear from Estonia and Interactive Brokers from Ireland. Both arrangements are lawful. You can check any firm’s status on the CMVM register at cmvm.pt.

What is the 4% imposto do selo on broker fees?

Portuguese stamp duty applies at 4% to financial-service commissions under Verba 17.3.4 of the TGIS. It is charged on the fee you pay, not on the value of your trade — the distinction matters, because reading it as a levy on trade value overstates it by roughly two orders of magnitude. Among the brokers on this page, only Lightyear documents collecting and remitting it: its 0.35% conversion fee is grossed up by 4% to 0.364% effective, remitted by Lightyear to the Portuguese Tax Authorities. Whether any other broker on this list collects it is not established in any source we read, so treat it as unknown rather than assuming it does not apply.

Why does XTB withhold 35% on some dividends?

XTB holds client shares in an omnibus account at a custodian. When a Portuguese company pays a dividend into that account, the paying entity cannot identify the beneficial owners or their tax residence, so it applies the highest rate local rules provide rather than the 28% liberatory rate. XTB states this on its own Portuguese tax guide: the rate applied is 35%. The same mechanism produces 30% on US-listed shares, although XTB allows the W-8BEN form to be completed on the platform, which reduces the US rate to 15%. This mainly affects dividends from Portuguese-issuer shares, not Irish-domiciled UCITS ETFs, but it is worth knowing before holding Portuguese equities there.

Which brokers offer a Portuguese-language platform?

XTB has the strongest local presence: a Lisbon office, a platform and help centre in Portuguese, Portuguese-language tax documentation and a local phone line. Trade Republic operates a Portuguese branch and a Portuguese-language app. eToro offers Portuguese localisation. Lightyear does not publish which languages its support covers, has no Portuguese-language platform and offers no telephone dealing — support is email and in-app chat only. Trading 212 and Interactive Brokers operate primarily in English for Portuguese clients. If reading the fine print on fees and risk disclosures in Portuguese matters to you, XTB is the practical choice.

QuantRoutine provides educational content only. Nothing on this page is an offer, solicitation, or recommendation to buy or sell any security or to open an account with any specific broker. Investments can lose value, and past performance does not guarantee future results. You are responsible for your own investment, tax, and legal decisions. Always review each broker’s current terms, fees, and eligibility on their official website before opening or funding an account.